C++ Pointers. Part 2





C ++ pointers, c ++ pointers

At the first part of the We have reviewed the, as using a pointer operator new You can allocate a piece of memory size required directly during the program operation. Just learned, as this memory can be freed, using delete. Saw how parameters are passed to a function pointer. And then, that it gives the opportunity to make changes in the value of variables, which are passed to the function.

We now look at an example where we pass to the function a pointer to a string (pointers of type char). This function returns a pointer to itself. Next task: there are two pointers to strings, under which they are allocated the necessary memory areas. It is necessary to combine these two strings. That is, it is necessary to allocate a new chunk of memory for the first string, to make it possible to add to it a second string.

Before, how to type code, that you are not “buried” errors – install the latest version of Microsoft Visual Studio environment. For example Microsoft Visual Studio 2013 Express. If you are using an earlier version, instead of functions strcat_s() apply strcat() and strcpy() instead strcpy_s().

Let's go in order. In string 4 It is a function prototype. Her task – allocate a new chunk of memory for the string, at the end of which it will write another string. This will be discussed below, when we come to the definition of this function,. Go to strings 11 – 12. They identify the variables, that will store the values ​​of the lengths of strings "string 1 " and "+ string 2". The length is calculated with the help of built-in functions strlen(). It will return the string length, excluding the symbol \0 . Therefore, when the initialization of variables strSize1 and strSize2 we add to that the return strlen(…) unit.

In string 14 defined pointer pStr1 on the first string. To write a string, you must first select it by memory: char* pStr1 = new char[strSize1]; The following copy a string in the allocated memory: strcpy_s(pStr1, strSize1, "string 1 "); . The first parameter, which receives function strcpy_s() – a pointer to the address where you want to copy a string; second – string size; the third – the string itself. The second pointer pStr2 We define exactly.

In str.. 20 – 21, Please show on screen the recorded strings. For this purpose it is enough to refer to them by name pointers. Pointer stores the address null cell. When we ask to show it on the screen – will be alternately displayed an array of characters (memory area, which was previously isolated), until it encounters an end-of-string character – \0 .

Str.. 23-24 – look how many bytes of memory takes each string. String 26 deleted a comment. It tried to add a second string to the first. Try to remove // and compile the program. Implementation of the program will abort error. You will see the following screen:

указатели на строки с++, pointers to the line c ++, new, deleteOf course – because the allocated memory area under the first string is too small, to append additional data. In string 28 write variable requiredSize really necessary memory size to record two strings: int requiredSize = (strSize1 + strSize2) - 1; Unit subtract because, variables that strSize1 and strSize2 already included two \0 , and we need only one.

Navigate to the definition of giveNewMem() – str.. 42 – 51. It will take the first string (a pointer to it) and integer (adequate memory size). Look – we need to allocate a new chunk of memory in this function for writing characters in it. So the function should return a pointer to the new memory location. So we can write in a pointer pStr1 new address, on which is located the memory to write two strings. Therefore, in the function header write so char* giveNewMem(char *pstr1, int reqSize)

So how will the new chunk of memory, then the memory, which occupies the first string should be released. If we do this right at the beginning of the function – data (characters string) disappear, because we lose the address at which they are located. Therefore, we should be in a function to request a new chunk of memory, in which we copy the characters of the first string, before you release the memory allocated for this component.

Create a new directory and immediately allocate memory for it, enough to accommodate two strings of symbols (str.. 44). Then copy the selected memory in the first string of characters: strcpy_s(strInFunc, reqSize, pstr1); The string is copied – you need to free up memory, that she was, lest there be a memory leak (str.. 48). We return from a function pointer to the new memory location: return strInFunc;

It turns out, when we call this function from main() (str.. 31) pStr1 = giveNewMem(pStr1, requiredSize); – in a pointer pStr1 written address of the new memory section, that can accommodate two strings. The only thing left to add this second string memory (str.. 33) and show it on the screen. Before exiting the program frees the memory. The first that has been allocated in the function, and then that is where the second string.

Compile program:

указатели на строки с++, pointers to the line c ++, new, delete

This example showed, as we, using pointers, can dispose of RAM with precision to the byte.

Summarize at the end and let the main, it is necessary to remember about pointers.

Why use pointers in C++?

  • using pointers, possible allocation of dynamic memory. Because memory for data is released in the course of the work program, and not at compile time. This is very beneficial, when we do not know in advance of the program will be used as actual data (variables). To allocate memory and free it, used by operators new and delete.
  • Indices are often used to access portions of the data volume of the functions. Character data and numerical arrays such as, which are defined outside the function. This approach came from the programming language C. In C ++, relative numeric variables and arrays easier to use link transmission. Soon we consider this topic. With strings in C style works best transfer by pointer.
  • using pointers – we work with the memory at the addresses directly. It's faster, than going by the name of variables.

Declaring pointers, taking addresses, dereferencing

Consider the example in detail:

In string 8 defined regular integer variable. In string 9 commented out declare and initialize the pointer. Try to remove the comment signs // and compile. We will report an error. All right. It should be a pointer to store the address (hexadecimal number), not the value (decimal number or symbol). In order for the, to get the address of a variable used by the capture operation addresses & (ampersand: Shift + 7). In string 10 create a pointer and write it the address of a variable:

инициализация указателя

To define a pointer, It is necessary to declare its type, for type an asterisk * and give it a name. Initialize the pointer can only address. If you do not assign an address pointer in its declaration, Initialize it to zero. Then this pointer will not be able to lead to complex errors, which is hard to find. He just anything will not indicate.

Usually we are not particularly interested, which stores an address pointer. We are interested in the data, located at this address. To view this data (or amend them) pointer to the name should apply the dereferencing operation. This is the same star *, as well as the declaration.

pointer dereference

Cout stream only is treated differently – not as much as in the pointer declaration. It helps to access data, stored at the address. This is shown in string 15 source.

In string 18 defined integral array five elements. Below specified pointer. Note – to initialize a pointer to the address array, operation & not applicable. This is because, that the name of the array refers to the address of the zero cell. It turns out that the record

pointer initialization

quite normally compiled. In the pointer variable pFirstArr address will be recorded zero array cell firstArr. This entry is similar to the following

pointer initialization

In string 25 shows an example of accessing data elements in the array through a pointer. Use array notation. That is, we do not need to apply the dereference operation, to access data in the array:

cout << "pfirstArr[0] = " << pFirstArr[0] << endl << endl;

Can, of course access the data array, using the notation of pointers, but it is inconvenient. Look, It looked as though assigning values to array elements and display values on screen:

Strings 27 – 28 source – definition C-strings and determination on this string pointer. Pointers are very good at working with strings. When we are in the stream cout call by name to a pointer to a character array, He will show us the entire string. As in the case of arrays, the compiler will display the characters on the screen, until it finds the end of the string in the array symbol \0

Look at the outcome of the program and the source code again. Try to understand how it works.

pointer initialization, pointer dereference, & taking addresses

Another digression, to encourage those, who is given difficult topic pointers :) You are not alone. Everything comes with practice! And it comes to you! Do not panic, if it looks too confusing for you. Solve as many as possible programming tasks. Even if you do something you do not in the process of writing code, our wonderful development environment will know about it.

Must see video about pointers (with the 12-th minute), if you haven't watched it in the first part of article:

Pointers, as parameters (arguments) function:




Newsletter of programming:

C++ Pointers. Part 2
4.5 (90%) 4 votes

9 thoughts on “C++ Pointers. Part 2

  1. Can not understand , in 15 string of code – strcpy_s(pStr1, strSize1, “string 1 “);
    function is used in strcpy_s 3 argument, earlier in the description of this function, it only indicates 2 argument (where the copy and that the copy).
    Actually the question : why it is now 3 argument? Because we're using a pointer as the first argument? Or because it is a new version of this feature (strcpy_s вместо strcpy)? Or this feature visual studio? unnecessarily. в code:: blocks the function strcpy takes 2 argument <>.

    1. The sample code used function strcpy_s(), instead of strcpy(), that really 2 argument. See the names attentively.

      P.S. This does not mean, so that should be done: strcpy_s() – function, not included in any POSIX standards, not C, or Linux, etc.. and so on. … and is used only on Windows operating systems (you do not even find its description in the literature). But this particular example – correct.

      1. I got just what I do not find the description of strcpy_s, And why this function, you need to know the size of the string is not clear.
        line size it is necessary to know because the first argument a pointer? Or is it a feature of the updated features? And how many arguments this function generally takes (can take) ?

    2. Specify the size of the copied string is very useful: if the row source, occasionally, as long as the receiver, you will receive a memory access error with the collapse of the entire application.

      See the description of the library and standard functions strncpy(), which is safer and increasingly used in professional code than strcpy().

  2. The development environment DEV CPP 5.11.
    The first example works without perevydeleniya memory function :)

  3. “The string is copied - you need to free up memory, that she was, lest there be a memory leak (str.. 48).”
    48:delete [] pstr1; // frees memory pstr1
    pstr1 pointer still immediately overwritten
    31:pStr1 = giveNewMem(pStr1, requiredSize);
    Normally Compile and executed without line 48.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Указатели С++. Часть 2

Оцени эту статью





указатели с++, указатели c++

В первой части мы рассмотрели, как используя указатель и оператор new можно выделить участок памяти необходимого размера непосредственно в процессе работы программы. Так же узнали, как этот участок памяти можно освободить, используя delete. Увидели как параметры передаются в функцию по указателю. И то, что это даёт возможность внести изменения в значение переменных, которые передаются в функцию.

Сейчас мы рассмотрим пример где будем передавать в функцию указатели на строки (указатели типа char). При этом сама функция возвращает указатель. Задача следующая: Есть два указателя на строки, под которые выделены необходимые им участки памяти. Необходимо объединить эти две строки. То есть надо выделить новый участок памяти для первой строки, чтобы стало возможным дописать в неё вторую строку.

Перед тем, как набирать код, чтобы вас не «засыпало» ошибками — установите свежую версию среды Microsoft Visual Studio. Например Microsoft Visual Studio 2013 Express. Если вы используете более раннюю версию, то вместо функций strcat_s() применяйте strcat() и strcpy() вместо strcpy_s().

Идем по порядку. В строке 4 находится прототип функции. Её задача — выделить новый участок памяти для строки, в конец которой запишется другая строка. Об этом мы поговорим ниже, когда дойдем до определения этой функции. Переходим к строкам 11 — 12. В них определены переменные, которые будут хранить значения длины строк "строка 1 " и "+ строка 2". Длина подсчитывается с помощью встроенной функции strlen(). Она вернет значение длины строки без учета символа \0 . Поэтому при инициализации переменных strSize1 и strSize2 мы прибавляем к тому что вернет strlen(…) единицу.

В строке 14 определён указатель pStr1 на первую строку. Чтобы записать строку, сначала необходимо выделить под нее память: char* pStr1 = new char[strSize1]; Ниже копируем строку в выделенную память: strcpy_s(pStr1, strSize1, "строка 1 "); . Первый параметр, который принимает функция strcpy_s() — указатель на адрес куда надо скопировать строку; второй — размер строки; третий — сама строка. Второй указатель pStr2 определяем точно так же.

В стр. 20 — 21, просим показать на экран записанные строки. Для этого достаточно обратиться к ним по имени указателей. Указатель хранит адрес нулевой ячейки. Когда мы просим показать его на экран — будут поочередно отображаться символы массива (участка памяти, который был выделен ранее), пока не встретится символ конца строки — \0 .

Стр. 23-24 — смотрим сколько байт памяти занимает каждая строка. Строка 26 исключена комментарием. В ней осуществлена попытка дописать вторую строку в первую. Попробуйте удалить // и откомпилировать программу. Выполнение программы прервется ошибкой. Вы увидите на экране следующее:

указатели на строки с++, указатели на строки c++, new, deleteКонечно — ведь выделенный участок памяти под первую строку слишком мал, для того чтобы дописать в него еще какие-либо данные. В строке 28 записываем в переменную requiredSize реально необходимый размер памяти для записи двух строк: int requiredSize = (strSize1 + strSize2) - 1; Единицу отнимаем потому, что в переменных strSize1 и strSize2 уже включены два \0 , а нам необходим только один.

Переместимся к определению функции giveNewMem() — стр. 42 — 51. Она примет первую строку (указатель на неё) и целое число (достаточный размер памяти). Смотрите — нам надо в этой функции выделить новый участок памяти для записи в него символов. Значит функция должна вернуть указатель на этот новый участок памяти. Так мы сможем записать в указатель pStr1 новый адрес, по которому расположена память для записи двух строк. Поэтому в заголовке функции пишем так char* giveNewMem(char *pstr1, int reqSize)

Так как будет выделен новый участок памяти, то ту память, которую занимает первая строка необходимо освободить. Если мы сделаем это сразу в начале функции — данные (символы строки) пропадут, потому что мы потеряем адрес по которому они расположены. Поэтому нам внутри функции надо запросить новый участок памяти, в который мы скопируем символы первой строки, перед тем как освободим занимаемую память.

Создаем новый указатель и сразу выделяем под него память, достаточную для размещения символов обеих строк (стр. 44). Далее копируем в выделенную память символы первой строки: strcpy_s(strInFunc, reqSize, pstr1); Строка скопирована — нужно освободить память, которую она занимала, чтобы не произошло утечки памяти (стр. 48). Возвращаем из функции указатель на новый участок памяти: return strInFunc;

Получается, когда мы вызываем эту функцию из main() (стр. 31) pStr1 = giveNewMem(pStr1, requiredSize); — в указатель pStr1 запишется адрес нового участка памяти, который способен вместить две строки. Осталось только дописать в эту память вторую строку (стр. 33) и показать её на экран. Перед выходом из программы освобождаем память. Сначала ту что была выделена в функции, а потом ту где располагается вторая строка.

Откомпилируем программу:

указатели на строки с++, указатели на строки c++, new, delete

Этот пример показал, как мы, используя указатели, можем распоряжаться оперативной памятью с точностью до байта.

Под конец подведем итоги и обозначим основное, что необходимо запомнить об указателях.

Зачем нужны указатели в C++?

  • с помощью указателей, возможно выделение динамической памяти. Так память под данные выделяется в процессе работы программы, а не на этапе компиляции. Это очень выгодно, когда мы не знаем до начала работы программы сколько реально будет использовано данных (переменных). Чтобы выделять память и освобождать ее, используются операторы new и delete.
  • указатели часто используются для доступа к объемным участкам данных из функций. К данным символьных и числовых массивов например, которые определены вне функции. Такой подход пришел из программирования на языке C. В C++ относительно числовых переменных и массивов удобнее использовать передачу по ссылке. Вскоре мы с вами рассмотрим эту тему. Относительно строк в стиле Си лучше применять передачу по указателю.
  • используя указатели — мы работаем с памятью по адресам напрямую. Это быстрее, чем обращение по имени переменных.

Объявление указателей, взятие адреса, разыменование

Рассмотрим подробно на примере:

В строке 8 определена обычная целочисленная переменная. В строке 9 закомментировано объявление и инициализация указателя. Попробуйте удалить знаки комментирования // и откомпилировать. Нам сообщат об ошибке. Все правильно. Ведь указатель должен хранить адрес (шестнадцатеричное число), а не значение (десятеричное число или символ). Для того, чтобы получить адрес переменной используется операция взятия адреса & (амперсанд: Shift + 7). В строке 10 создаем указатель и записываем в него адрес переменной:

инициализация указателя

Чтобы определить указатель, надо объявить его тип, за типом поставить звездочку * и дать ему имя. Инициализировать указатель можно только адресом. Если вы не присваиваете адрес указателю при его объявлении, обязательно инициализируйте его нулем. Тогда такой указатель не сможет привести к сложным ошибкам, которые тяжело найти. Он просто ни на что не будет указывать.

Обычно нам не особо интересно, какой адрес хранит указатель. Нас интересуют данные, расположенные по этому адресу. Чтобы посмотреть эти данные (или внести в них изменения) к имени указателя надо применить операцию разыменования. Это такая же звездочка *, как и при объявлении.

разыменование указателя

Только в потоке cout она трактуется иначе — не так как при объявлении указателя. Она помогает обратиться к данным, хранящимся по адресу. Это продемонстрировано в строке 15 исходного кода.

В строке 18 определен целочисленный массив на пять элементов. Ниже определен указатель. Обратите внимание — чтобы инициализировать указатель адресом массива, операция & не применяется. Это потому, что имя массива ссылается на адрес нулевой ячейки. Получается что запись

инициализация указателя

вполне нормально компилируется. В переменную-указатель pFirstArr будет записан адрес нулевой ячейки массива firstArr. Эта запись аналогична следующей

инициализация указателя

В строке 25 показан пример обращения к данным элементов массива через указатель. Используется нотация массивов. То есть нам не надо применять операцию разыменования, чтобы обратиться к данным массива:

cout << "pfirstArr[0] = " << pFirstArr[0] << endl << endl;

Можно, конечно обращаться к данным массива, используя нотацию указателей, но это неудобно. Посмотрите, как бы выглядело присвоение значений элементам массива и показ значений на экран:

Строки 27 — 28 исходного кода — определение Си-строки и определение указателя на эту строку. Указатели замечательно справляются с работой со строками. Когда мы в потоке cout обращаемся по имени к указателю на символьный массив, он нам покажет всю строку. Так же как и в случае с массивами, компилятор будет выводить символы на экран, пока не обнаружит в массиве символ конца строки \0

Посмотрите на итог работы программы и на исходный код еще раз. Постарайтесь понять как он работает.

инициализация указателя, разыменование указателя, & взятие адреса

Еще одно отступление от темы, чтобы подбодрить тех, кому тяжело дается тема указателей :) Вы не одни. Всё приходит с практикой! И к вам дойдет! Не паникуйте, если это выглядит слишком запутанным для вас. Решайте как можно больше задач по программированию. Даже если вы что-то будете делать не так в процессе написания кода, наши замечательные среды разработки дадут об этом знать.

Обязательно посмотрите видео об указателях (с 12-й минуты), если вы не смотрели его в первой части статьи:

Указатели, как параметры (аргументы) функций:




Рассылка новых уроков по программированию:

Указатели С++. Часть 2: 7 комментариев

  1. Не могу понять , в 15 строке кода — strcpy_s(pStr1, strSize1, «строка 1 «);
    в функции strcpy_s используется 3 аргумента, ранее при описании этой функции в ней указывалось только 2 аргумента (куда скопировать и что скопировать).
    Собственно вопрос : почему теперь в ней 3 аргумента? Потому что мы сейчас используем указатель как первый аргумент? Или потому что это новая версия этой функции (strcpy_s вместо strcpy)? Или этой особенность visual studio? Т.к. в code:: blocks функция strcpy принимает 2 аргумента <>.

    1. В примере кода использована функция strcpy_s(), а не strcpy(), которая действительно имеет 2 аргумента. Смотрите имена внимательнее.

      P.S. Это вовсе не означает, что так следует делать: strcpy_s() — функция, не входящая в стандарты ни POSIX, ни C, ни Linux и т.д. и т.п. … и используется только в операционных системах Windows (вы не найдёте даже её описания в литературе). Но конкретный этот пример — корректен.

      1. Понял только то что описания strcpy_s я не найду, а почему этой функции нужно знать размер строки не понятно.
        Размер строки ей надо знать потому что первым аргументом указатель? Или это особенность обновленной функции? И сколько аргументов эта функция вообще принимает (может принимать) ?

      2. У меня на code::blocks тоже не берет.Может это из-за того,что среду разработки нужно другую?более новую?Здесь написано про нее, пишут что более безопасная функция,так как предупреждает переполнение буфера! https://msdn.microsoft.com/ru-ru/library/8ef0s5kh.aspx

    2. Указывать размер копируемой строки очень полезно: если строка источник, по случайности, длиннее приёмника, то вы получите ошибку доступа к памяти с крахом всего приложения.

      Посмотрите описание библиотечной и стандартной функции strncpy(), которая безопаснее и чаще применяется в профессиональном коде чем strcpy().

  2. Среда разработки DEV CPP 5.11.
    Первый пример работает и без функции перевыделения памяти :)

Добавить комментарий

Код размещайте в тегах: <pre class="lang:c++ decode:true ">YOUR CODE</pre>