Function overloading in C++





c++ function overloading, function overloading c ++

Perhaps, someone from beginners scares the topic title “Function overloading”? Scares me. It seemed – It is something, what have long to understand. Actually, function overloading is very easy to understand. There is nothing complicated.

Overloaded functions – this function, that have the same name, but differ in the number of accepted parameters or types. Or – both.

To start to define what is the essence of the use of overloaded functions. It consists in the fact, you can give the same name functions. When this, they may be performed in various ways and various types of return values. For example, function should take an array of numbers and return the program to the sum of its elements. But we can pass in an array of function int or type double. In this case we can not provide different functions names. They're essentially performing the same work, just use different data types.

The following program defines three overloaded functions named sumElements(). All of them calculate the amount of array elements. One takes an array type int and its size. The second takes an array type double and its size. The third takes two array type elements int and double and their size.

Definitions of overloaded functions are located in the strings 31 – 61. They create a variable to store the sum of the values ​​of the array elements. In a for loop the amount of accumulated. Next, the resulting value is returned to the program, to place a call to an overloaded function.

Title to all three functions performed by one and the same name – strings 17, 21, 25. Passed to the function when calling an array of type int, and its size, the compiler will automatically detect, which of the three overloaded functions it is necessary to use. Similarly occur during call other functions.

c++ function overloading, function overloading c ++

The most important role in overloaded functions it plays a parameter list. It is also called a signature function. In order to use overloaded functions their signature must be different. Otherwise, the compiler will not be able to determine, what kind of function you want to use in a particular case,. That is, in the signature must be different number of parameters, types, or both, and the second.

How not to do:

c++ function overloading, function overloading c ++

With this announcement, even considering the fact, function that return data with different types of, and what the parameter names are different, the compiler can not determine which of the two functions cause. These signatures are identical in type and number of parameters. Therefore, these functions can not be overloaded.

Watch a short video about the overload:

Newsletter of programming:

Date
page
Function overloading in C++
Rating
51star1star1star1star1star

Leave a Reply

Place code in tags: <pre class="lang:c++ decode:true ">YOUR CODE</pre>

Перегрузка функций в C++

Перегрузка функций в C++
5 (100%) 1 vote





перегрузка функций с++, перегрузка функций c++

Возможно, кого-то из новичков пугает название темы «Перегрузка функций»? Меня пугало. Казалось — это что-то, с чем придется долго разбираться. На самом деле, перегрузку функций очень легко понять. Сложного нет ничего.

Перегруженные функции — это функции, которые имеют одинаковое имя, но отличаются количеством или типами принимаемых параметров. Либо — и тем и другим.

Для начала определимся в чём заключается суть использования перегруженных функций. Состоит она в том, что вы можете дать одинаковое имя функциям. При этом, они могут по-разному выполняться и возвращать значения разных типов. Например, функция должна принять массив чисел и вернуть в программу сумму его элементов. Но мы можем передать в функцию массив типа int или типа double. В таком случае можно не давать функциям разные имена. Они ведь по сути выполняют одну и ту же работу, только используют данные разных типов.

В следующей программе определены три перегруженные функции с именем sumElements(). Все они вычисляют сумму элементов массивов. Одна принимает массив типа int и его размер. Вторая принимает массив типа double и его размер. Третья принимает два массива с типом элементов int и double и их размер.

Определения перегруженных функций находятся в строках 31 — 61. В них создается переменная для накопления суммы значений элементов массива. В цикле for сумма накапливается. Далее полученное значение возвращается в программу, на место вызова перегруженной функции.

Обращение ко всем трём функциям производится по одному и тому-же имени — строки 17, 21, 25. Передав в функцию при вызове массив типа int и его размер, компилятор сам автоматически определит, какую из трёх перегруженных функций ему необходимо использовать. Точно так же произойдет и во время вызова остальных функций.

перегрузка функций с++, перегрузка функций c++

Самую важную роль в перегруженных функциях играет именно список параметров. Его называют ещё сигнатурой функции. Чтобы пользоваться перегруженными функциями их сигнатура обязательно должна быть разной. Иначе компилятор не сможет определить, какую именно функцию необходимо использовать в том или ином случае. То есть в сигнатурах параметры должны отличаться количеством, типами или и тем и вторым.

Как делать не надо:

перегрузка функций с++, перегрузка функций c++

При таком объявлении, даже с тем учетом, что функции возвращают данные с разными типами, и что имена параметров отличаются, компилятор не сможет определить какую из двух функций вызвать. Их сигнатуры одинаковы по типам и по количеству параметров. Поэтому такие функции не могут быть перегруженными.

Посмотрите короткое видео о перегрузке:

Рассылка новых уроков по программированию:

Добавить комментарий

Код размещайте в тегах: <pre class="lang:c++ decode:true ">YOUR CODE</pre>