Templates C ++ functions





function templates c ++, c ++ templates functions, template c++

A little earlier, addressed the topic of function overloading in C++. You learned about the opportunity to write several functions with the same name, who perform the same tasks. The main difference between them – signature (parameter types and / or number of parameters). When the program starts, the compiler will choose, which of the overloaded functions apply (on the assumption that, that passed to the function)

The same templates allow functions to handle different data types, transmitted as parameters. But it is enough to write one common definition of a function. See how it looks.

function templates c ++, c ++ templates functions, template c++

By defining a function template we used C ++ reserved words: template and typename. template suggests that, that will now define the template. And in angle brackets after typename given a conditional name of the data type. Here, instead of name T, you can assign any (very desirable correct) name.

Next is determined by the function itself. Specify the type of the return value T. Options: the number of type T, and the number of type int. This function finds the number and percentage of the value in the program returns. And the number, and the percentage passed as parameters. For example the first parameter we pass to an integer function (100). During start-up, the compiler will note that currently T this is int and replace the template functions, all these T on int. Thus, the compiler function has the form:

function templates c ++, c ++ templates functions, template c++

We do not see clearly, but everything works great. Whatever the number, we have not passed to this function as the first parameter, the compiler will create an instance of a function template for any call. Here, the first parameter can be any type of data.

As a result, the screen will see the result of this calculation:function templates c ++, c ++ templates functions, template c++

Speaking about the definition of a function template, i want to add, in angle brackets after the keyword template possible to record several conventional names for data types. Why you might need to do this? Consider this example:

It is necessary to write a function, which will take two numbers, determine the maximum of them and return it in the program. Will be given, that function we can pass the number of different types of. The case is, one number is an integer, and the second – material. See what happens:

The first and second parameters are defined function, as type parameters T. With function calls in strings 19-20 no problem, since the transfer parameters are of the same data type. Problems arise in the string 22 compile. And this is understandable. The compiler will get confused. He can not convert type int in double.

шаблоны функций c++, шаблоны функций с++, template c++

To work around this problem, it is necessary to write another template.

Here typename T_1 indicates the type of parameter, that is passed in to the function first. typename T_2 respectively indicates the type of the second parameter. This version of the definition of the function template will alert errors, resulting in the transmission of different types of parameters.

function templates c ++, c ++ templates functions, template c++

It is important to remember,if you are in angle brackets give you a few names for conventional types of function parameters (as in our example), all these type names must be mentioned in the function signature. Otherwise avoid errors when compiling. For example is the definition of a template

function templates c ++, c ++ templates functions, template c++

It leads to the following errors:

шаблоны функций c++, шаблоны функций с++, template c++

The template we defined them conditional types T_1 and T_2, and the signature of the prescribed type only T_1 .

In practice, you can meet the definition of a function template in such a way, where instead of the keyword typename the use of the word class. For example:

function templates c ++, c ++ templates functions, template c++

it is equivalent to the definition of, which we considered

function templates c ++, c ++ templates functions, template c++

Previously, before the C ++ 98 standard, in templates always used the word class. Now better, when there was a keyword typename , better to use it. Because it is more clearly says that, that the names T_1 and T_2 They represent the type.

To summarize. The template function is designed to create a generalized description of the function. Such a function can take parameters of any type. The template allows the compiler to generate code for a specific function such as (or types) data, that was passed into it when you call.

Must see video. About templates with a 14-minute:

Newsletter lessons:


Agree to receive notifications from purecodecpp.com to my e-mail

Date
page
Templates C ++ functions
Rating
5

14 thoughts on “Templates C ++ functions

  1. A question, here's an example, where the function takes two arguments to the parameters T1 and T2, you have written, that the function will return the larger value of type T2, and if it would be a greater number of, which is a parameter T1 ? It is implicit to the T2 type with possible data loss ??

    1. Yes, in the example shown, the return value of type T1, and if the second type T2 return, there will be an implicit conversion to T1.
      What happens as a result – it is your responsibility to provide … for example, You can write an explicit conversion:

      return static_cast( second );

  2. why it can not be?

    template
    T_1 findMax(int a, double b)
    {
    if (a > b)
    return a;
    else if (b > a)
    return b;
    else
    return 0;
    }

  3. template
    T_1 findMax(int a, double b)
    {
    if (a > b)
    return a;
    else if (b > a)
    return b;
    else
    return 0;
    }

  4. that is, so why can not?

    1. because, what is syntax rules, and it just will not work syntactical control.
      A syntactic patterns rules say, that template types are written in angle brackets.

      1. Website ate a piece of code, why it can not be?

    1. So it is impossible for many reasons:
      – mentioned generic type to be used in the function signature (this phrase is in the text)
      – because the return (return) different types you are allowed only because, what is included permissible automatic conversion – it is a bad practice…
      – better when returning to write explicit conversion:

      – and even better:

      1. P.S. Yes, forum engine (till?) He eats everything, in angle brackets … so I can not show you the correct static_cast… , Well, look in books.

  5. Note (it is not accentuated in the text), what all, due to the template (function, classes) ** ** is processed by the preprocessor, means makroobrabotki text – before the beginning Best C ++ compile all the patterns revealed a code conversion.

Leave a Reply

Place code in tags: <pre class="lang:c++ decode:true ">YOUR CODE</pre>

Шаблоны функций C++

Оцени эту статью





шаблоны функций c++, шаблоны функций с++, template c++

Немного ранее была рассмотрена тема о перегрузке функций в C++. Вы узнали о возможности написать несколько функций с одинаковым именем, которые выполняют одинаковые задачи. Основное отличие между ними — сигнатура (типы параметров и/или количество параметров). При запуске программы, компилятор сам выберет, какую из перегруженных функций применить (исходя из того, что передано в функцию)

Шаблоны так же позволяют функциям обрабатывать разные типы данных, переданные в виде параметров. Но при этом достаточно написать одно общее определение функции. Смотрите как это выглядит.

шаблоны функций c++, шаблоны функций с++, template c++

Определяя шаблон функции мы использовали зарезервированные слова C++: template и typename. template говорит о том, что сейчас будет определен шаблон. А в угловых скобках после typename дается условное имя типу данных. Тут, вместо имени T, можно присвоить любое (очень желательно корректное) имя.

Далее определяется сама функция. Тип возвращаемого значения указываем T. Параметры: число типа T, и число типа int. Эта функция считает процент от числа и возвращает значение в программу. И число, и процент передаются как параметры. Например первым параметром мы передадим в функцию целое число (100). Во время запуска, компилятор отметит себе что T это int и заменит в шаблоне функции все эти T на int. Таким образом для компилятора функция примет вид:

шаблоны функций c++, шаблоны функций с++, template c++

Мы этого не увидим явно, но все отработает замечательно. Какое бы число мы не передали в эту функцию первым параметром, компилятор создаст экземпляр шаблона функции для любого вызова. При этом первый параметр может иметь любой тип данных.

В итоге на экране увидим такой результат расчетов:шаблоны функций c++, шаблоны функций с++, template c++

Говоря об определении шаблона функции, хочется добавить, что в угловые скобки после ключевого слова template возможно записать несколько условных имен для типов данных. Зачем это может понадобиться? Рассмотрим такой пример:

Необходимо написать функцию, которая примет два числа, определит максимальное из них и вернет его в программу. Будем иметь ввиду, что в функцию мы можем передать числа разных типов. Возможен и случай, что одно число будет целым, а второе — вещественным. Смотрите что произойдет:

Первый и второй параметры функции определены, как параметры типа T. С вызовами функции в строках 19-20 проблем не возникает, так как передаваемые параметры имеют одинаковый тип данных. Проблемы возникнут в строке 22 при компиляции. И это понятно. Компилятор запутается. Он не может преобразовать тип int в double.

шаблоны функций c++, шаблоны функций с++, template c++

Чтобы обойти эту проблему, надо написать другой шаблон.

Тут typename T_1 обозначает тип параметра, который передается в функцию первым. typename T_2 соответственно обозначает тип второго параметра. Такой вариант определения шаблона функции предупредит ошибки, возникающие при передаче параметров разных типов.

шаблоны функций c++, шаблоны функций с++, template c++

Важно запомнить,что если вы в угловых скобках вы даете несколько условных имен для типов параметров функции (как в нашем примере), все эти имена типов должны быть упомянуты в сигнатуре функции. Иначе не избежать ошибки при компиляции. Например такое определение шаблона

шаблоны функций c++, шаблоны функций с++, template c++

приводит к следующим ошибкам:

шаблоны функций c++, шаблоны функций с++, template c++

В шаблоне мы определили условные им типов T_1 и T_2, а в сигнатуре прописали только тип T_1 .

На практике вы можете встретить определение шаблона функции таким способом, где вместо ключевого слова typename используется слово class. Например:

шаблоны функций c++, шаблоны функций с++, template c++

оно равнозначно тому определению, которое мы рассматривали

шаблоны функций c++, шаблоны функций с++, template c++

Ранее, до выхода стандарта C++98, в шаблонах всегда использовали слово class. Сейчас же лучше, когда появилось ключевое слово typename , лучше применять его. Так как оно более явно говорит о том, что имена T_1 и T_2 представляют тип.

Подведем итог. Шаблон функции предназначен для создания обобщенного описания функции. Такая функция сможет принять параметры любого типа. Шаблон позволит компилятору генерировать код функции для конкретного типа (или типов) данных, который был передан в неё при вызове.

Обязательно посмотрите видео. О шаблонах с 14-й минуты:

Рассылка новых уроков по программированию:

Шаблоны функций C++: 14 комментариев

  1. Странно, у меня если даже определить шаблон через T_1 программа работает корректно =о

  2. Такой вопрос, вот в примере, где функция принимает два аргумента с параметрами T1 и T2, у вас написано, что функция вернет большее значение с типом T2, а если большее число окажется то, которое с параметром T1 ? будет неявное приведение к типу T2 с возможной потерей данных ??

    1. Да, в показанном примере возвращаемое значение функции типа T1, и если возвращается second типа T2, то будет неявное преобразование к T1.
      А что будет в итоге — это вы должны сами предусмотреть … например, можете записать явное преобразование:

      return static_cast( second );

  3. почему так нельзя?

    template
    T_1 findMax(int a, double b)
    {
    if (a > b)
    return a;
    else if (b > a)
    return b;
    else
    return 0;
    }

  4. то есть так почему нельзя?

    1. Потому, что есть правила синтаксиса, и это просто не пройдёт синтаксический контроль.
      А синтаксические правила шаблонов говорят, что типы шаблона записываются в угловых скобках.

      1. Сайт скушал часть кода, почему так нельзя?

    1. Так нельзя по многим причинам:
      — упоминаемый шаблонный тип должен быть использован в сигнатуре функции (такая фраза есть в тексте)
      — потому что возвращать (return) разные типы вам позволено только потому, что включается допустимое автоматическе преобразование — это плохая практика…
      — лучше при возврате записать явное преобразование:

      — а ещё лучше:

      1. P.S. Да, движок форума (пока?) съедает всё, что в угловых скобках … поэтому я не могу вам правильно показать static_cast… , ну, в книжках посмотрите.

  5. Обратите внимание (это не акцентировано в тексте), что всё, что связано с шаблонами (функций, классов) обрабатывается **препроцессором**, средствами макрообработки текста — до начала самой компиляции С++ все шаблоны раскрываются преобразованием кода.

Добавить комментарий

Код размещайте в тегах: <pre class="lang:c++ decode:true ">YOUR CODE</pre>