Recursion C ++





рекурсия с++, Fibonacci c ++

In C ++ any function except main() can call itself. That is, in the body of the call can be placed the same function. This is called recursion.

When the program executes the code of a recursive function – she will perform it indefinitely, if you do not provide a condition to exit the recursion. This should be remembered, to avoid looping calls. Therefore, in the definition of recursive function must specify the exit condition. For example, You can place it inside the block call if.

In this program function recursionGoDown() will call itself, until it is transferred to a number greater than zero. Every time, function gets the number of, from which is subtracted in the signature unit. As soon as the condition becomes false (the number will be less than zero) – calls to stop and start the output of the recursion.

If we pass in a function number 9, calls will 10. The program as it deepens on 10 levels, performing recursion. To her out of the recursion, We must pass these ten levels back. So the string of code

will run too 10 times, but the value someNumber will change in the opposite order. First, it will conform to, that was passed to the function in the 10 level of recursion, then passed on to the fact that 9 level, etc..

рекурсия с++, Fibonacci c ++

I want to draw attention to an important point. Each recursive call creates a new variable someNumber with the new value. These variables will occupy some space in RAM. If the call 10, as in our example, and it will be stored in the memory 10 with different values ​​of the variables. It is possible to add to the program output to the screen addresses, which stores these values ​​and see this:

Passing in a function number 2: recursionGoDown(2); Levels of recursion is 3.

рекурсия с++, Fibonacci c ++

As seen, each value of a variable someNumber stored in a separate memory segment. During the return to recursion values come from the same addresses but in reverse order.

Almost every task, which can be solved using recursion, can be implemented using iteration loops. You can in fact easy to show on the screen the number of 9 to 0 and by 0 to 9 applying loops. In addition, you should know, that recursion takes more memory and calculation will produce slower, than the iteration.

But, as claimed by experienced programmers and many authors of books, this does not mean, recursion is useless. There are tasks, decide which, using iteration loops, difficult and cumbersome. A recursive solution looks better. For entry-level, until you learn only basics of programming in C ++, you just need to understand, what a recursion is and how it works.

See more videos on the topic of Recursion with 6′ (Author video: Denis Markov).

Newsletter of programming:


Agree to receive notifications from purecodecpp.com to my e-mail

Date
page
Recursion in C++
Rating
5

4 thoughts on “Recursion C ++

  1. You're too hard on recursion ;-)

    1. Recursion – a general mathematical formalism, which theoretically express all computable algorithms (I took it from the mat. theory of algorithms).
    2. All tasks of dynamic data structures (lists, queue, trees, counts, …) solved recursively easier, and most importantly clearer, than iteratively (cyclic iterative algorithms work better on arrays – static structures).
    3. There are algorithms, expressed in 2-3 line recursively, but that is very difficult to write without recursion. A beautiful example of this: famous challenge “tower of Hanoi”. Many sorting algorithms (the same array) better expressed in a recursive form.

    Recursion just seems complicated, because it is not taught in the domestic practice and do not know how to use it. And at universities in France, for example, training 1st semester starts with learning recursive algorithms.

    1. Always good, when someone expresses his point of view and my personal opinion, based on experience. Beginners will be useful to read.

      1. Recursion – this is most natural way to handle any dynamic structures (lists, trees, etc.), This exhibit functional programming languages, such as Lisp. This approach is much more effective, than iterative (cycles). But it should be shown on code examples…
        A simple and beautiful example of recursion look at the problem of a number raised to a power: http://purecodecpp.com/archives/2734

Leave a Reply

Place code in tags: <pre class="lang:c++ decode:true ">YOUR CODE</pre>

Рекурсия в С++

Оцени эту статью





рекурсия с++, рекурсия c++

В C++ любая функция кроме main() может вызывать саму себя. То есть в теле функции может быть размещен вызов этой же функции. Это называется рекурсией.

Когда программа выполняет код рекурсивной функции — она будет выполнять его бесконечно, если не предусмотреть условие выхода из рекурсии. Об этом надо помнить, чтобы избежать зацикливания вызовов. Поэтому в определении рекурсивной функции обязательно надо указывать условие выхода. Например, можно разместить её вызов внутри блока if.

В этой программе функция recursionGoDown() будет вызывать саму себя, пока в нее передается число больше нуля. Каждый раз, функция получает число, от которого в сигнатуре отнимается единица. Как только условие станет ложным (число станет меньше нуля) — вызовы остановятся и начнется выход из рекурсии.

Если мы передаем в такую функцию число 9, вызовов будет 10. Программа как бы углубляется на 10 уровней, выполняя рекурсию. Чтобы ей выйти из рекурсии, надо пройти эти десять уровней обратно. Так строка кода

будет выполняться тоже 10 раз, но значение someNumber будет меняться в обратном порядке. Сначала оно будет соответствовать тому, что передалось в функцию на 10 уровне рекурсии, потом тому что передалось на 9 уровне и т.д.

рекурсия с++, рекурсия c++

Хочу обратить внимание на важный момент. При каждом рекурсивном вызове создается новая переменная someNumber с новым значением. Эти переменные будут занимать какое-то место в оперативной памяти. Если вызовов 10, как в нашем примере, то и в памяти будет храниться 10 переменных с разными значениями. Можно дописать в программу вывод на экран адресов, по которым хранятся эти значения и убедиться в этом:

Передаем в функцию число 2: recursionGoDown(2); Уровней рекурсии будет 3.

рекурсия с++, рекурсия c++

Как видно, каждое значение переменной someNumber хранится в отдельном отрезке памяти. Во время обратного выхода по рекурсии значения берутся из тех же адресов но в обратном порядке.

Практически каждую поставленную задачу, которую можно решить используя рекурсию, можно реализовать используя итерации циклов. Вы ведь легко можете показать на экран числа от 9 до 0 и от 0 до 9 применив циклы. Помимо этого следует знать, что рекурсия займет больше памяти и будет производить вычисления медленнее, чем итерация.

Но, как утверждают опытные программисты и многие авторы книг, это не значит, что рекурсия бесполезна. Есть задачи, решать которые, используя итерации циклов, сложно и громоздко. А рекурсивное решение выглядит лучше. Для начального уровня, пока вы изучаете только основы программирования на C++, вам достаточно просто понимать, что из себя представляет рекурсия и как она работает.

Посмотрите ещё видео по теме Рекурсия с 6′ (Автор видео: Денис Марков).

Рассылка новых уроков по программированию:

Рекурсия в С++: 4 комментария

  1. Вы слишком строги к рекурсии ;-)

    1. Рекурсия — это общий математический аппарат, которым теоретически выражаются все вычислимые алгоритмы (это я взял из мат. теории алгоритмов).
    2. Все задачи над динамическими структурами данных (списки, очереди, деревья, графы, …) решаются рекурсивно проще, а главное нагляднее, чем итерационно (итерационные циклические алгоритмы лучше работают над массивами — статическими конструкциями).
    3. Есть алгоритмы, которые выражаются в 2-3 строчки рекурсивно, но которые крайне сложно выписать без рекурсии. Красивейший пример тому: знаменитая задача «Ханойская башня». Многие алгоритмы сортировки (тех же массивов) лучше выражаются в рекурсивной форме.

    Рекурсия только кажется сложной, потому что ей не учат в отечественной практике и не умеют её применять. А в университетах Франции, например, обучение 1-го семестра начинают с обучения рекурсивным алгоритмам.

    1. Всегда хорошо, когда кто-то высказывает свою точку зрения и свое личное мнение, основанное на опыте. Начинающим полезно будет почитать.

      1. Рекурсия — это самый естественный способ обработки любых динамических структур (списков, деревьев и т.д.), это демонстрируют функциональные языки программирования, такие как Lisp. Такой подход намного эффективней, чем итерационный (циклами). Но это нужно показывать на примерах кода…
        А простой и красивый пример рекурсии посмотрите в задаче возведения числа в степень: http://purecodecpp.com/archives/2734

Добавить комментарий

Код размещайте в тегах: <pre class="lang:c++ decode:true ">YOUR CODE</pre>