Association in c++ (union C++)




Unions in c ++, union c++, report, course workUnited Technologies union It has its origins in the '90s. Weak computer for our times (Now their computers and it can not be called), low memory (all measured kilobytes). Hard Drives for 40 megabyte was almost a miracle of technology, personifying ogromennye amounts of information, craftsmen that “bore” special software to storage 80 megabyte (so that was a little more). Each byte of memory was at a premium, I had to save on everything. That's an association variable was also intended (and quite successfully, as I will explain below) help the programmer to make optimal and economical program, “eat” small amounts of memory.

To understand what is the meaning of association need to remember how variables are stored. Various different types of variables or the same type of group (like int, long and short) despite the work with the same data type, (I mean the whole) occupy a different amount of memory in bytes. long in any case it takes a maximum number of bytes in the memory, at the same time in the memory for a variable of this type it is possible to write down the value int or short. Just get, that not all reserved bytes long-and will be in demand. If you put for example the number of 325 in long, two bytes are occupied (It depends on the bit processor), and the remaining bytes are filled with zeros.

It is in this sense appears union, For this statement tells the compiler: “I will reserve a place for the data type with a maximum query memory, and I'll sort itself, how and what value to put in them”.

An association – is a data format, which is similar structure. It (an association) capable of storing within one reserved memory area various types of data. But at any given time it is stored in association only one of these data types, and may use only the value of the element (component). Syntactically define the union as (very similar to the definition of the structure):

Access to the elements of the union is the same, as well as to the elements of structures: The name of association myUnion , point . and the name of the element name1 .

data, which store elements structure (for example short, int, long) we can access at any time (at least one, though all at once). in merger data can be stored either short, or int, or long. For example:

Run the program:

Unions in c ++, union c++, report, course work

As you can see, after, we recorded the value in element name3 type long int , normally no longer possible to access the element name1 . This is because, in their shared memory already recorded value long int, and the variable type short int unable to work with such a volume of data. Schematically it can be represented as:

Unions in c ++, union c++, report, course work

Therefore,, to once again work with the type of data short int you must assign the item again name1 new meaning. So it turns out – memory of one and the same, and the variables in it are placed different. To what call – and such requests from this memory value.

The elements are arranged in association with the memory from one location (as it were superimposed on each other), in contrast to the structural elements (they are stored in memory consecutively, one after another).

Application of association due to the need to save memory, when you need to store and use data types, but to access them, you can not simultaneously.

If we describe a set of variables are not bringing them in union, then placing them would require 2 + 4 + 4 bytes = 10 bytes. That savings. And the union takes 4 bytes. As many as 6 byte saved, filling three variables in one memory segment.

By the way it should be noted, that this technology has managed to get a good continuation, and in the modern languages ​​used everywhere where it is necessary and do not need. SiŞarp, PHP, Delphi, modern heirs C plus plus – they use all such associations. Only in the modern world they are called variant. The variable variant You can easily shove up 10 bytes (10 this is the maximum for 32-bit systems under real number). Accordingly, these 10 byte and the entire family of integer and real, and pointers, objects, and string (more precisely handles strings or pointers to them) fit.

Today, the memory savings are not so relevant, how 15-20 years ago. Of course, nobody forbids to use union, but why? If there are more convenient for today means working with memory programmer.

It should also be noted, that to perform a program memory loaded with excess (i.e.. to program the amount of memory allocated, very often more than necessary). This can be observed, writing a program with one variable. It would seem – variable 4 bytes, but by opening the Task Manager in Windows software “somehow” won 10 kilobyte. This is how modern operating system, allocating memory with a vengeance. In the 90, Alas, a luxury and could not be.

In the next lesson we will look at bit fields in C ++. Take the time to watch a video on the theme of Association (union) in С++ :

Newsletter of programming:

Date
page
Association in c++ (union C++)
Rating
51star1star1star1star1star

Leave a Reply

Place code in tags: <pre class="lang:c++ decode:true ">YOUR CODE</pre>

Объединения в С++ (union C++)




объединения в с++, union c++, доклад, курсовая работаТехнология объединений union берет свои истоки в 90-х. Слабенькие по нашим временам ЭВМ (сейчас их и компьютерами то не назовешь), мало памяти (все измерялось килобайтами). Жесткие диски по 40 мегабайт были чуть ли не чудом техники, олицетворяющим огроменные объемы информации, которые умельцами «растачивались» специальными ПО до хранения 80 мегабайт (чтоб побольше было). Каждый байт памяти был на вес золота, приходилось экономить на всём. Вот и объединение переменных тоже было призвано (и достаточно успешно, о чем я расскажу ниже) помочь программисту сделать оптимальную и экономную программу, «кушающую» маленькие объемы памяти.

Чтобы понять в чем смысл объединения нужно вспомнить как хранятся переменные. Разные переменные разного типа или одинаковой группы типов (вроде int, long и short) несмотря на работу с одним и тем же типом данных (имею ввиду целое) занимают в памяти разное количество байт. long в любом случае занимает максимальное количество байт в памяти, при этом в память для переменной этого типа вполне можно записать значения int или short. Просто получится, что не все зарезервированные байты long-а будут востребованы. Если поместить к примеру число 325 в long, будут заняты два байта (зависит от разрядности процессора), а остальные байты заполнятся нулями.

Именно в этом и появляется смысл union, ибо эта инструкция говорит компилятору: «Зарезервируй мне место для типа данных с максимальным запросом объема памяти, а я уже буду сама разбираться, как и какие значения в них положить».

Объединение — это такой формат данных, который подобен структуре. Оно (объединение) способно хранить в пределах одной зарезервированной области памяти различные типы данных. Но в каждый определенный момент времени в объединении хранится только один из этих типов данных и возможно использовать лишь значение этого элемента (компонента). Синтаксически определяют объединение так (очень похоже на определение структуры):

Доступ к элементам объединения осуществляется так же, как и к элементам структур: Имя объекта объединения myUnion , точка . и имя элемента name1 .

К данным, которые хранят элементы структуры (например short, int, long) мы можем обращаться в любой момент (хоть к одному, хоть и ко всем сразу). А в объединении могут храниться данные либо short, либо int, либо long. Например:

Запускаем программу:

объединения в с++, union c++, доклад, курсовая работа

Как видите, после того, как мы записали значение в элемент name3 типа long int , уже невозможно нормально обращаться к элементу name1 . Все потому, что в их общую память уже записано значение long int, а переменная типа short int неспособна работать с данными такого объема. Схематически можно это представить так:

объединения в с++, union c++, доклад, курсовая работа

Поэтому, чтобы опять работать с данными типа short int необходимо снова присвоить элементу name1 новое значение. Вот и получается — память одна и та же, а переменные в ней размещаются разные. К какой обращаемся — такая и запрашивает из этой памяти значение.

Элементы объединения располагаются в памяти начиная с одного места (как бы накладываются друг на друга), в отличии от элементов структуры (они располагаются в памяти последовательно один за другим).

Применение объединений вызвано необходимостью экономии памяти, когда нужно хранить и использовать данные разных типов, но обращаться к ним можно не одновременно.

Если бы мы описали просто набор переменных не объединяя их в union, то для их размещения потребовалось бы 2 + 4 + 4 байта = 10 байт. Вот и экономия. А так объединение занимает 4 байта. Целых 6 байт сэкономили, натрамбовав три переменные в один отрезок памяти.

К слову нужно заметить, что эта технология умудрилась получить неплохое продолжение, и в современных языках используется везде где нужно и не нужно. СиШарп, PHP, Делфи, современные наследники Си плюс плюс — все они используют такие объединения. Только в современном мире они уже называются variant. В переменную variant можно без проблем запихнуть до 10 байт (10 это максимум для 32-х разрядных систем под вещественное число). Соответственно в эти 10 байт и все семейство целых и вещественных, и указатели, и объекты, и строки (точнее описатели строк или указатели на них) вмещаются.

На сегодняшний день экономия памяти не так актуальна, как 15-20 лет назад. Конечно, никто не запрещает использовать union, но зачем? Если есть более удобные на сегодня средства работы с памятью для программиста.

Следует отметить также, что программы для выполнения в память загружаются с избытком (т.е. для программы выделяется количество памяти, зачастую чрезвычайно большее чем надо). Это можно наблюдать, написав программу с одной переменной. Казалось бы — переменная 4 байта, но открыв диспетчер задач в Винде программа «почему-то» заняла 10 килобайт. Так работает современная операционная система, выделяя памяти с лихвой. В 90-х, увы, такой роскоши и быть не могло.

В следующем уроке мы рассмотрим битовые поля в С++. Не поленитесь посмотреть видео по теме Объединения (union) в С++:

Дата
Страница
Объединения в С++ (union C++)
Рейтинг
5

Добавить комментарий

Код размещайте в тегах: <pre class="lang:c++ decode:true ">YOUR CODE</pre>