STL containers: multimap. Part 8

STL containers: multimap. Part 8
Rate this article




multimap c ++ class, stl containers, multimap for beginnersWe have considered a simple example of using map<> to count the occurrences of individual characters in the text. For this purpose, we used a container map<>. But the library STL provides us and other (close) type of container - it multimap<>, which allows for the presence of many elements (pair<>) in its composition to the the same key values.

Naturally, that the basic rules of operation multimap<> change (compared with map<>). For such a container will have the following differences in the behavior of:

  • It contains ordered pairs <key,value>, where the key and value may belong to arbitrary types;

  • Elements with any key values ​​must not be uniqueme, in the ordered sequence of elements (by key) such equivalent elements are, how different elements, and they are arranged one after the other;

  • Since the keys are the same, then the operation of adding a new pair in the table (method insert()) always successful. No need to return the result of such operation: return value - void;

  • Since it is now in the container can be a lot of elements with equal keys, it introduced an additional method count(). It gets the value of the key parameter, returns the number of occurrences of the elements, have a key, into the container;

  • removal operations (method erase()) with an indication of the element to remove the key deletes all at once elements with the same key;

Let's see how multimap<> cope with the previous task. That text files for testing program:

30 Brother_And_Sister 11 Humpty-Dumpty 34 Jabberwock

As in the previous example, It uses several bulky to enter characters from the stream, contains the text in many strings. This is because, what and). I would like to read and also space characters as symbols, rather than as delimiters and b). you could just read characters from the series cin followed by excluding line breaks. But in the illustrated embodiment, it would be desirable to preserve the independence of the operating system (distinguish the so-called DOS and UNIX line feed). The rest of the code has become a lot shorter and easier.

Result of, that we got, shown below (next repeated to compare the same action, performed map<>):

multimap c ++ class, stl containers, multimap for beginners
multimap
class map c ++, stl containers, map for beginners
map

We draw attention to the fact, as the removal of a single operator alphabet.erase( ‘a’ ) we have removed from the tables 38 elements, Identifying keys ‘a’. Where did the size size() in 696 elements?




multimap c ++ class, stl containers, multimap for beginners

(Show shape wc command calculates the Linux operating system the number of rows in file. The ls command outputs length file, i.e.. the number of individual bytes, characters in the file. In Windows, you can try to achieve a similar result using the dir command.)

If we have the total number of symbols (length in bytes) subtract the number of lines (line breaks) in file, then we get this figure: 726 – 30 = 696. In this way, for each input symbol has been established separate table element, for example, key ‘s’ It was 39 such elements.

All, previously said about map container<> (except premises and sampling algorithm) fully applies to multimap<>, for example, comparability requirement and the key, how to define or redefine the comparison operation.

Newsletter of programming:

Olej

About Olej

practical experience about software development 40 years. Teacher Global Logic international software company. IBM Developer Works Permanent author of publications. Scientific editor of the computer literature publishing house "Symbol-Plus", St. Petersburg.

Leave a Reply

Place code in tags: <pre class="lang:c++ decode:true ">YOUR CODE</pre>

Основы программирования на С++ для начинающих

Контейнеры STL: multimap. Часть 8




класс multimap c++, контейнеры STL, multimap для начинающихМы рассмотрели простой пример использования map<> для подсчёта вхождения отдельных литер в текст. Для этой цели мы использовали контейнер map<>. Но библиотека STL нам предоставляет и другой (близкий) тип контейнера — это multimap<>, который допускает наличие многих элементов (pair<>) в своём составе с одинаковыми значениями ключей.

Естественно, что основные правила функционирования multimap<> изменятся (по сравнению с map<>). Для такого контейнера будут следующие отличия в поведении:

  • Содержит упорядоченные пары <ключ,значение>, где ключ и значение могут принадлежать к произвольным типам;

  • Элементы с любыми значениями ключа не должны быть уникальными, в упорядоченной последовательности элементов (по ключу) такие эквивалентные элементы представлены, как разные элементы, и располагаются они друг за другом;

  • Поскольку ключи могут совпадать, то операция добавления новой пары в таблицу (метод insert()) всегда успешна. Поэтому нет смысла возвращать результат такой операции: возвращаемое значение — void;

  • Поскольку теперь в контейнере может находиться много элементов с равными ключами, то вводится дополнительный метод count(). Он получает параметром значение ключа, возвращает число вхождений элементов, имеющих такой ключ, в контейнер;

  • Операции удаления (метод erase()) с указанием ключа удаляемого элемента удаляет все сразу элементы с совпадающими ключами;

Посмотрим как multimap<> справится с предыдущей задачей. Вот текстовые файлы для тестирования программы:

30 Brother_And_Sister11 Humpty-Dumpty34 Jabberwock

Как и в предыдущем примере, используется несколько громоздкий ввод символов из потока, содержащего текст во много строк. Это связано с тем, что а). хотелось бы читать и символы пробела тоже как символы, а не как разделители и б). можно было бы просто последовательно читать символы из cin с последующим исключением переводов строки. Но в показанном варианте хотелось бы сохранить независимость от используемой операционной системы (различие так называемого DOS и UNIX перевода строки). В остальной части код стал много короче и проще.

Результат того, что мы получили, показан ниже (рядом повторено для сравнения то же действие, выполняемое map<>):

класс multimap c++, контейнеры STL, multimap для начинающих
multimap
класс map c++, контейнеры STL, map для начинающих
map

Обратим внимание на то, как единичным оператором удаления alphabet.erase( ‘a’ ) мы удалили из таблиц 38 элементов, определяющихся ключом ‘a’. Откуда взялся размер size() в 696 элементов?




класс multimap c++, контейнеры STL, multimap для начинающих

(Показанная форма команды wc вычисляет в операционной системе Linux число строк в файле. Команда ls выводит длину файла, т.е. число отдельных байт, символов в файле. В Windows вы можете попытаться добиться некоторого подобного результата используя команду dir.)

Если мы из общего числа символов (длины в байтах) вычтем число строк (переводов строк) в файле, то мы и получим эту цифру: 726 – 30 = 696. Таким образом, для каждого символа входного потока был создан отдельный элемент таблицы, например, с ключом ‘s’ было 39 таких элементов.

Всё, ранее сказанное относительно контейнера map<> (кроме алгоритма помещения и выборки) в полной мере относится и к multimap<>, например, требование сравнимости ключей и то, как определить или переопределить операцию сравнения.

Рассылка новых уроков по программированию:

Контейнеры STL: multimap. Часть 8
Оцени эту статью

Добавить комментарий

Ваш e-mail не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *