Pointers to functions





a pointer to a function, c ++, Programming for beginners, c++

It has been observed, that the pointers can point to a variety of types of objects in the program language C ++. More precisely, to all and on all kinds of objects, Data in the program are.

However, the same objects, as conventional data objects, are functions in a Programme. Hence arises a desire to try to define and use a function pointer. Create this simple program (ex1.cc):

Here, with the function area() all clear: it calculates the area of ​​a circle of radius, who is devoted to her, as a parameter. But later, we declare a variable pointer to a function:

At the time of this announcement, the pointer pfunc It is nothing more, as a certain address in the internal computer representation (4 Byte 32-bit operating system,, 8 Byte 64-bit operating system,). This is exactly the same kind of internal, which has, let us say, a pointer to an integer variable int*. However, this index has a strictly defined type: a pointer to a function, takes one parameter of type double, and returns a value of type double. But on what specific function pointer points, at its definition - no matter: the index value is not defined.

But the next assignment operator we bind a function pointer to a particular function area(). Absolutely correct would be to record the assignment of function pointer addresses: pfunc = &area. But the C ++ compiler is smart enough, that references the function name in the assignment statement interprets as its address. Thus entry pfunc = area also absolutely correct. From this point we can use the pointer pfunc to call a function to which it points. To do this, we write the value to which the pointer points *pfunc (operation * in this context it is called dereference pointer). The parentheses around the dereferenced value pfunc in recording (*pfunc)( r ) necessary for reasons of priority of operations in terms of disclosure. Executing this example:

a pointer to a function, c ++, Programming for beginners, c++

While the use of function pointers did not bring anything fundamentally new in this example,, apart from some syntax intricacies. But in this example, we still only know how to define and use function pointers. And now we can move on to the question of why it is needed and how we can use it.

Supposing, for a large project, we are preparing a series of tests, performed in the process of development and growth of the test project (the so-called test development technology, and very productive). The number of turn-based test in this situation will continue to grow as we move readiness of the base project.

In this situation, we can do so (ex2.cc):

And that's what we have on the performance of:

a pointer to a function, c ++, Programming for beginners, c++

In this listing tests[ ] – this is array function pointers with no parameters and no return value. Beautiful solution, is not it? We can not hesitate to add new features caused by solid test, and all of them will be called in sequence when performing.

We can go even further: if the function is a pointer to a function in an expression, You can pass a function pointer as a parameter to another, embracing function, and the latter will perform in your body function to pass parameters, not knowing what action is performed at the same time.

To illustrate what has been said the program will create the most primitive calculator, performing arithmetic operations on integer operands (ex3.cc):

It performs the actual calculation function calculate(). But she did not "know" anything about the actions carried out and all arithmetic operations: it applies to the 2nd the first one of its parameters 6 functions, which she handed over to the 3rd parameter to perform.

Who does not know about typedef read here.

This code function strtod() – a standard feature of the C library (ANSI C, standard POSIX), which extracts a decimal number from a string, obtained from the standard input stream. In the context of our discussion is interesting because, what:

  • a C ++ program can use the entire set of C library calls;
  • C ++ program using runtime shared C library (.so or .dll), and in the absence of a standard C library, C ++ programs are inoperative.

But back to the calculator shown (its extremely simplified due to the fact, that we do not deal with the problems of input, its format and do not process the user input errors – in real applications so you can not do):

a pointer to a function, c ++, Programming for beginners, c++

Observant reader might have noticed, that the function calculate() despite all their desire and could not perform any of the required arithmetic operations, well as performing these actions function sum(), dif(), I have() and div() described later functions calculate() not visible in the function code calculate().

In this way, We looked at several different occasions, when functions are used in C ++, as data items. They can be combined in arrays, integrated as fields structures, or transferred to other functions as arguments. All these details and possibilities are realized at the expense of function pointers (Although they may not look as pointers syntax records, due to the intelligent C ++ compiler, who understands the context, that should be used functions addresses).

If you do not understand something on the material or the code programs – ask questions in the comments.

We invite you to evaluate this lesson and lesson Pointers to objects:

Newsletter of programming:


Agree to receive notifications from purecodecpp.com to my e-mail

Date
page
Function pointers in C ++
Rating
5
Olej

About Olej

practical experience about software development 40 years. Teacher Global Logic international software company. IBM Developer Works Permanent author of publications. Scientific editor of the computer literature publishing house "Symbol-Plus", St. Petersburg.

12 thoughts on “Pointers to functions

  1. The extra semicolon in the first listing after the function double area(double R).

    “an address in the internal computer representation”
    Just “an address”, what about this supplement “internal representation”? – it adds something to the point?

    “New in this primert”
    typo.

    “You can pass a function pointer as a parameter to another, embracing function, ”
    What's the function of covering? What it covers?

    “Who does not know about the typedef - read here.”
    Link excellent, but it is better to write about it here (it's not much).

    The last example is dull. IMHO on function pointers have to say about it as a whole (as in the first example Article), Then give an example of a standard function qsort, which takes a pointer to a comparison function. And to complete all something like the search function of the root by bisection (this is a very simple example, and it just as convenient to pass to qsort function as a parameter).

    That is. the user must see that there are pointers to functions and deal with the syntax (In the first example, you can add a description typedef). Then I saw, it really necessary (once used in the standard library). Well, in the end I learned to write the same functions, take other function pointer, as qsort.

    Well, this is IMHO.

    1. > Just "an address", to which this supplement about "internal representation"? - It adds something to the point?

      certainly adds. Because, in terms of typing C, especially C ++, syntactically “simply addresses” or “some addresses” in general there is no (except that except void *). All typed pointers (and the radically differ from each other). And only in the internal machine representation of a pointer to a function, a class method, let us say, и char * – already do not differ, they are simply indistinguishable.

      1. > certainly adds. Because, in terms of typing C, especially C ++, syntactically "simply addresses" or "certain addresses" does not exist at all (except that except void *). All typed pointers … And only in the internal machine representation of a pointer to a function, a class method, let us say, and char * - already do not differ, they are simply indistinguishable.

        Address – even in Africa address, no matter on what you write.

        #include

        int main() {
        int val = 12345;
        int *intp = &val; // type typed pointer
        char *charp; // Another typed pointer
        charp; (char*)INT;

        std::cout << (int) *charp << " " << *(int*)charp << std::endl;
        }

        Here it is shown that an int pointer can be cast to a char pointer.
        Well, then you can refer to at this address data. In the first case, dereferenced pointer char *, so the first byte is selected by the address of val. In the second case, char * is cast to an int * pointer and dereferenced, therefore already taken all 4 bytes.

        Conclusion: 57 12345

        In any case, the addresses in Cu can function as desired. You can take data from any address, read them and write them anything.

        For example you could append to the end of this program, something like:
        *charp; 56;

        std::cout << val << std::endl;

        that is, the address can be replaced with val variable first byte, working with him through a char pointer. And you can not first byte, since in C all is well with the address arithmetic.

    2. > The last example is dull. IMHO on pointers to functions had

      But on this occasion: not “it was necessary to” – and it was necessary to take and how to write your text, and their examples. And do not tell sad “as it should have been”.

      1. I am writing “their texts” :). By criticism calmly. Especially in that, that you have learned can not be obtained.

        >> In the context of our discussion is interesting because, what: … C ++ program using runtime shared C library (.so или .dll), and in the absence of a standard C library, C ++ programs are inoperative.

        “The context of our discussion” – this is “function pointers” and in it we do not wonder what's going on with the shared libraries.

        Especially, that the accuracy of information that may be questionable. You say, that the program is used in C ++ “shared library” C language. term “shared library” suggests, library that is simultaneously used by multiple processes.

        Duck's, The library includes inside each executable file, they do not nifiga “shared”. As they shared can be used for debugging, but with the option of going Releases –always static. Otherwise, your program will not run on your computer, if it is not installed on the same version of the compiler, that you used when assembling the program and will not be prescribed the appropriate paths to your system PATH variable. Or you can, of course, run all programs, written in C ++ from one directory, in which the root place the appropriate .dll / .so, but no one else does

      2. int powr(int op1, int op2)
        {
        int ret = 1;
        while (on 2–) right * = op1;
        return ret;
        }

        This type of construction in the whole degree. Little of, wildly it ineffective and may be replaced by the use of standard function. So it still falls a negative value op2.

        PS. If you write an article about the function pointers in C ++, IMHO it is necessary to tell about std::functional. With an ode to the parties stated in the title of C ++, not his. With another – funtional almost every point of view is better and more convenient. For example, I through it can transmit lambda (Yes, and any other callable object), and through a function pointer – I can not.

        Instead, the author wrote some incorrect information about “shared library”.

      3. I totally agree with the following commentator, lessons you do not get.

  2. int main()
    {
    //…
    return 0; // already 4 This year, an extra string. If the program is not terminated abnormally, * * it automatically returns zero error code. That is. you're here to perform work, that without you the compiler performs

    >> Supposing, for a large project, we are preparing a series of tests, performed in the process of development and growth of the test project (the so-called test development technology, and very productive). … In this situation, we can do so (ex2.cc):

    In this situation, in any case it is impossible to do so, as you write. All your efforts are far from wild “development through testing”. Look at the google test framework or to boost unit test framework or 100500 analogs.

    >>
    for (int i = 0; i > due to the intelligent C ++ compiler, who understands the context, that should be used functions addresses

    Sex articles you talk about “smart compiler”. In reality, there is nothing particularly clever is not – If the function name is not a parenthesis, stopudovo it is not a function call, and a pointer to it. No misrepresent type &I function anywhere but your article has not seen.

  3. How difficult it all is I have with these pointers:(
    An interesting lesson and makes a lot of thinking. I guess it's good, but some of the highlights for me have remained unclear. Especially with an array of function pointers, and can anyone answer me through typedef.
    typedef int(*fint_t)(int, int);
    fint_t foper[] =
    {
    summ, diff, much, divd, bals, powr
    };
    Here is the view, that the function of the pointer turns into a type of data?
    Explain, please…

    1. typedef does not introduce a new type of, it only defines short synonym for long writing “a pointer to a function here this type”.
      A more determined array these function pointers (named foper) and he immediately clearly initialized. Because of the size of the array initialization is displayed, then at his description, we can not specify it ([]).

Leave a Reply

Place code in tags: <pre class="lang:c++ decode:true ">YOUR CODE</pre>

Указатели на функции

Указатели на функции
4.25 (85%) 4 votes





указатель на функцию, с++, программирование для начинающих, c++

Уже было отмечено, что указатели могут указывать на самые разнообразные типы объектов в программе на языке C++. Точнее, на все и на любые виды объектов, являющиеся данными в программе.

Но такими же объектами, как и традиционные объекты данных, являются функции в программе. Поэтому напрашивается желание попытаться определить и использовать указатель на функцию. Создадим вот такую простейшую программу (ex1.cc):

Здесь с функцией area() всё ясно: она вычисляет площадь круга того радиуса, который предан ей, как параметр. Но позже мы объявляем переменную указатель на функцию:

В момент этого объявления указатель pfunc представляет собой ничего более, как некоторый адрес во внутреннем представлении компьютера (4 байта в 32-бит операционной системе, 8 байт в 64-бит операционной системе). Это в точности тот же внутренний вид, который имеет, скажем, указатель на целочисленную переменную int*. Но этот указатель имеет свой строго определённый тип: указатель на функцию, принимающую один параметр типа double, и возвращающую значение типа double. Но вот на какую конкретно функцию указывает указатель, в точке его определения — не важно: значение указателя не определено.

А вот следующим оператором присвоения мы привязываем указатель на функцию к конкретной функции area(). Абсолютно правильным было бы записать присвоение указателю адреса функции: pfunc = &area. Но компилятор C++ настолько умён, что и упоминание имени функции в операторе присвоения интерпретирует как её адрес. Таким образом запись pfunc = area также совершенно корректная. С этого момента мы можем использовать указатель pfunc для вызова функции на которую он указывает. Для этого мы записываем значение на которое указывает указатель *pfunc (операция * в таком контексте называется разыменованием указателя). Скобки вокруг разыменованного значения pfunc в записи (*pfunc)( r ) нужны из соображений приоритетов раскрытия операций в выражении. Выполнение этого примера:

указатель на функцию, с++, программирование для начинающих, c++

Пока использование указателей на функции не принесло ничего принципиально нового в рассматриваемом примере, кроме некоторых замысловатостей синтаксиса. Но в этом примере мы пока только узнали каким образом можно определить и использовать указатели на функции. А теперь мы можем перейти к вопросу зачем это нужно и как мы можем это использовать.

Предположим, для некоторого крупного проекта мы готовим последовательность тестов, выполняемых в процесс развития и роста самого тестируемого проекта (это так называемая технология разработки тестирования, и очень продуктивная). Число пошаговых тестов в такой ситуации будет постоянно нарастать по мере продвижения готовности базового проекта.

В этой ситуации мы можем поступить так (ex2.cc):

И вот что мы имеем на исполнении:

указатель на функцию, с++, программирование для начинающих, c++

В этом листинге tests[ ] — это массив указателей на функции без параметров и без возвращаемых значений. Красивое решение, не правда ли? Мы можем не задумываясь добавлять новые функции массива вызываемых тестов, и они все последовательно будут вызываться при выполнении.

Мы можем пойти ещё дальше: если указатель на функцию представляет функцию в выражениях, можно передать указатель на функцию в качестве параметра другой, охватывающей функции, и последняя будет выполнять в своём теле переданную параметром функцию, не зная какое действие при этом выполняется.

Для иллюстрации всего сказанного создадим программу самого примитивного калькулятора, выполняющего арифметические действия над целочисленными операндами (ex3.cc):

Здесь собственно вычисление выполняет функция calculate(). Но она ничего не «знает» о выполняемых действиях и о арифметических операциях вообще: она применяет к 2-м первым своим параметрам одну из 6-ти функций, которую ей передали 3-м параметром для выполнения.

Кто не знает о typedef читайте тут.

В этом коде функция strtod() — стандартная функция библиотеки языка C (ANSI C, стандарта POSIX), которая извлекает десятичное число из строки, полученной со стандартного потока ввода. В контексте наших обсуждений это интересно тем, что:

  • программа на C++ может использовать всё множество библиотечных вызовов языка C;
  • программа C++ использует на этапе выполнения разделяемые библиотеки языка C (.so или .dll), и при отсутствии стандартной библиотеки C, программы на C++ становятся неработоспособными.

Но вернёмся к работе показанного калькулятора (его предельная упрощённость связана с тем, что мы не занимаемся проблемами ввода, его формата и не обрабатываем ошибки ввода пользователем — в реальных программах так делать нельзя):

указатель на функцию, с++, программирование для начинающих, c++

Наблюдательный читатель мог бы заметить, что функция calculate() при всём своём желании и не могла бы выполнить ни одно из требуемых арифметических действий, так как выполняющие эти действия функции sum(), dif(), mul() и div() описаны позже функции calculate() и не видимы в коде функции calculate().

Таким образом, мы рассмотрели несколько различных случаев, когда функции в C++ используются, как экземпляры данных. Они могут объединяться в массивы, встраиваться в качестве полей структур, или передаваться другим функциям в качестве параметров. Все эти и подробные возможности реализуются за счёт указателей на функции (хотя по синтаксису записей они могут и не выглядеть как указатели, за счёт умного компилятора C++, который по контексту понимает, что должны использоваться адреса функций).

Если вам что-то не понятно по материалу или по коду программ — задавайте вопросы в комментариях.

Предлагаем вам оценить этот урок и урок Указатели на объекты:

Рассылка новых уроков по программированию:

Olej

Об авторе Olej

Стаж практических программных разработок около 40 лет. Преподаватель международной софтверной компании Global Logic. Постоянный автор публикаций IBM Developer Works. Научный редактор книжного издательства компьютерной литературы "Символ-Плюс", Санкт-Петербург.

Указатели на функции: 15 комментариев

  1. Лишняя точка с запятой в первом листинге после функции double area(double R).

    «некоторый адрес во внутреннем представлении компьютера»
    Просто «некоторый адрес», к чему эта добавка про «внутреннее представление»? — она что-то добавляет к сути?

    «нового в рассматриваемом примерt»
    опечатка.

    «можно передать указатель на функцию в качестве параметра другой, охватывающей функции, »
    Что за охватывающая функция? Что она охватывает?

    «Кто не знает о typedef – читайте тут.»
    Ссылка замечательная, но лучше написать про это тут (это же совсем не много).

    Последний пример унылый. ИМХО по теме указателей на функции надо было сказать про это вцелом (как в первом примере статьи), потом привести пример с стандартной функцией qsort, которая принимает указатель на функцию сравнения элементов. Ну и завершить все чем-то вроде функции поиска корня методом половинного деления (это очень простой пример и в нем точно также как в qsort удобно передавать функцию в качестве параметра).

    Т.е. юзер должен увидеть что есть указатели на функции и разобраться с синтаксисом (в первый пример можно добавить описание typedef). Затем увидел, что это реально нужно (раз используется в стандартной библиотеке). Ну и под конец научился писать такие же функции, принимающие другие функции по указателю, как и qsort.

    Ну это ИМХО.

    1. > Просто “некоторый адрес”, к чему эта добавка про “внутреннее представление”? – она что-то добавляет к сути?

      Конечно добавляет. Потому как, с точки зрения типизации C, а особенно C++, синтаксически «просто адресов» или «некоторых адресов» не существует вообще (разве что исключая void*). Все указатели типизированные (и тем радикально различаются друг от друга). И только во внутреннем машинном представлении указатель на функцию-метод класса, скажем, и char* — уже ничем не различаются, они просто неразличимы.

      1. > Конечно добавляет. Потому как, с точки зрения типизации C, а особенно C++, синтаксически “просто адресов” или “некоторых адресов” не существует вообще (разве что исключая void*). Все указатели типизированные … И только во внутреннем машинном представлении указатель на функцию-метод класса, скажем, и char* – уже ничем не различаются, они просто неразличимы.

        Адрес — он и в Африке адрес, независимо на чем ты пишешь.

        #include

        int main() {
        int val = 12345;
        int *intp = &val; // типа типизированный указатель
        char *charp; // еще один типизированный указатель
        charp = (char*)intp;

        std::cout << (int) *charp << " " << *(int*)charp << std::endl;
        }

        Тут показано что указатель на int можно скастовать в указатель на char.
        Ну а потом можно обратиться к данным по этому адресу. В первом случае разыменовывается указатель char*, поэтому выбирается первый байт по адресу переменной val. Во втором случае указатель char* кастуется в int* и разыменовывается, поэтому берутся уже все 4 байта.

        Вывод: 57 12345

        В любом случае с адресами в Си можно работать как угодно. Ты можешь брать данные по любому адресу, считывать их и записывать по ним что угодно.

        Например ты мог бы дописать в конец этой программы что-то типа:
        *charp = 56;

        std::cout << val << std::endl;

        то-есть по адресу переменной val можно заменить первый байт, работая с ним через указатель на char. А можно и не первый байт, ведь в Си все хорошо с адресной арифметикой.

    2. > Последний пример унылый. ИМХО по теме указателей на функции надо было

      А вот по этому поводу: не «надо было» — а надо было взять и написать как свой текст, так и свои примеры. А не тоскливо рассказывать «как надо бы было бы».

      1. Я и пишу «свои тексты» :). К критике относись спокойней. Особенно при том, что уроки у тебя не получаются.

        >> В контексте наших обсуждений это интересно тем, что: … программа C++ использует на этапе выполнения разделяемые библиотеки языка C (.so или .dll), и при отсутствии стандартной библиотеки C, программы на C++ становятся неработоспособными.

        «Контекст наших обсуждений» — это «указатели на функции» и в нем нам вообще не интересно что там происходит с разделяемыми библиотеками.

        Тем более, что достоверность этой инфы может вызывать сомнения. Ты говоришь, что программы на С++ используют «разделяемые библиотеки» языка Си. Термин «разделяемая библиотека» предполагает, что библиотека одновременно используется несколькими процессами.

        Дак вот, библиотеки включаются внутрь каждого исполняемого файла, они нифига не «разделяемые». Как разделяемые они может быть используются при отладке, но релизы собираются с опцией —static всегда. Иначе твоя программа не запустится на компьютере, если на нем не установлен компилятор той же версии, которую ты использовал при сборке программы и не будут прописаны соответствующие пути в системную переменную PATH. Ну или ты можешь, конечно, запускать все программы, написанные на С++ из одного каталога, в корень которого поместить соответствующие .dll/.so, но так никто не делает

      2. int powr(int op1, int op2)
        {
        int ret = 1;
        while (op2—) ret *= op1;
        return ret;
        }

        Это типа возведение целую в степень. Мало того, что это дико неэффективно и может быть заменено использованием стандартной функции. Так оно еще и упадет при отрицательном значении op2.

        PS. Если писать статью про указатели на функции в С++, то ИМХО стоит рассказать про std::functional. С одой стороны в заголовке заявлено С++, а не Си. С другой — funtional почти со всех точек зрения лучше и удобней. Например я через него могу лямбду передавать (да и любой другой callable объект), а через указатель на функцию — не могу.

        Но вместо этого автор написал какую-то недостоверную информацию про «разделяемые библиотеки».

      3. Совершенно согласен со следующим коментатором, уроки у тебя НЕ получаются.

  2. int main()
    {
    //…
    return 0; // уже 4 года эта строчка лишняя. Если программа не завершилась аварийно, она *автоматически* вернет нулевой код ошибки. Т.е. ты тут выполняешь работу, которую и без тебя выполняет компилятор

    >> Предположим, для некоторого крупного проекта мы готовим последовательность тестов, выполняемых в процесс развития и роста самого тестируемого проекта (это так называемая технология разработки тестирования, и очень продуктивная). … В этой ситуации мы можем поступить так (ex2.cc):

    В этой ситуации ни в коем случае нельзя поступать так, как ты пишешь. Все твои старания дико далеки от «разработки через тестирование». Посмотри на google test framework или на boost unit test framework или на 100500 аналогов.

    >>
    for (int i = 0; i > за счёт умного компилятора C++, который по контексту понимает, что должны использоваться адреса функций

    Пол статьи ты рассказываешь про «умный компилятор». Реально там ничего особо умного нет — если за именем функции нет круглой скобки, то стопудово это не вызов функции, а указатель на нее. Никаких извратов типа &function я нигде кроме твоей статьи не видел.

  3. Как же трудно у меня все обстоит с этими указателями:(
    Интересный урок и заставляет много думать. Наверное это хорошо, но некоторые моменты для меня так и остались непонятными. Особенно с массивом указателей на функции и может кто-нибудь ответить мне на счет typedef.
    typedef int(*fint_t)(int, int);
    fint_t foper[] =
    {
    summ, diff, mult, divd, bals, powr
    };
    Здесь имеется ввиду, что указатель на функцию превращается в тип данных?
    Объясните пожалуйста…

    1. typedef не вводит нового типа, он только определяет короткий синоним для длинного написания «указатель на функцию вот такого типа».
      А дальше определяется массив таких указателей на функции (с именем foper) и он тут же явно инициализируется. Поскольку из инициализации выводится размер массива, то при его описании мы можем его не указывать ([]).

  4. Понятно, что sizeof возвращающий длину в байтах, но вот условие:
    i < sizeof(tests) / sizeof(tests[0])
    никак не могу понять. Поясните пжл.

    1. Что может быть проще?
      Так получается число элементов массива.
      Если массив 1-байтных элементов (char[]) содержит 10 элементов, то это 10/1=10.
      Если массив 100-байтных элементов (структур)содержит 10 элементов, то это 1000/100= … и опять же 10.

      1. Дайте побольше задачек по темам на этом сайте…спасибо за уроки!

Добавить комментарий

Код размещайте в тегах: <pre class="lang:c++ decode:true ">YOUR CODE</pre>