Pointers to objects




c ++, pointers to objects, Programming for beginners, c++When we first met with pointers in C ++ (cm. Pointers in C++. Part 1 ) there can be a simplified representation, that the pointers can point only to individual variables embedded (scalar) C ++ type, and that this is just one more, an alternative form of access to such variables. In such an application pointers would welcome addition language, but with a very limited capacity.

A closer examination of C ++ pointers, we find, the pointer may be the address of accommodation (point at) any permissible object program: structure, class object, array, functions, or again, a pointer to an object, or a pointer to a pointer, and so on… This makes the pointer almost the most powerful tool in the programmer C ++ ... but also the most dangerous in terms of possible hidden errors.

Consider these options more. The easiest option is to use pointers to complex objects (class objects and structures). But such use of pointers opens up broad prospects in C ++, as we shall see.

So, we already know, that the class definition does not create any new database objects in the program - it is only a description of a template, new data type, according to which will create real objects data. While creating (advertisement) New data objects, we can calculate the address of these objects and assign them to pointers to objects this class. Write a simple program, operations to be carried out with pointers to objects some class (file ex1.cc):

Here we see a relatively new topics in our design:

This constructor new class my, but with a parameter creation. When you call it calls the superclass constructor (number(numb)), giving it the same value. The following parentheses {} frame empty block code, which means, that nothing more needs to be done over and above the call the parent constructor. Remembering, that the entire sequence of the constructors of all parent classes – call (in reverse order of succession) when calling engendered by the class constructor, but this only for designers without parameters. In the case of parameterized constructors rodieley you will have to call the clearly.

But we will digress from the subject of our discussion… And now it's time to compile and see the execution of the program we have received:

c ++, pointers to objects, Programming for beginners, c++

Nothing fundamentally new, and all this is much like the, we would work with pointers to variables of type double, let us say.

Recall, in addition, what operator new to dynamically create a new object:

and) It causes the dynamic memory control manager and allocates a new volume for placement of the object;

b) causes constructor the corresponding class (data type) for the initial markup (initialization) dedicated memory. Slightly modify your example (file ex2.cc):

Building and Running:

c ++, pointers to objects, Programming for beginners, c++

It is still there have been no radical changes ..., but pay attention to the, that the program (and it could be arbitrarily large program) declared and no not used explicitly objects - The program operates only pointers to objects.

And, finally, we get closer to the techniques in the use of pointers to objects, which makes it the most powerful indicators of the work tool with classes and objects in C ++. Namely: Virtualization member functions and class polymorphism. concept polymorphism (variability of form, the diversity) – one of the main C ++ development on its predecessor, the C. It is, that the progenitor of a whole family inherited classes announces some of its functions, methods like virtual. A different classes inherited these features methods redefined differently. It means, that different derived classes (related) function method with the same name will be performed somewhat different way, depending on the class to which it is used.

To demonstrate this technique on the example. Create (file ex3.cc) class, describing in general any figures on the flat plane (it can be elements of a 2D game scenario):

Here we have an example of, in C ++ called abstract class: class, which defines at least one virtual function with the definition of the form:

In the illustrated class features such as much 3. Naturally, that create an object abstract class impossible, there are functions, which the body is not defined. Trying to declare objects of this class will cause a syntax error. But from such a class, you can inherit, create derivative classes, who will inherit the general properties of a generic abstract (for example, coordinates x and Y the center of the figure and its size r).

define 3 derivatives from figure class: a circle, square and an equilateral triangle:

Now we are ready to create a program, for which they were built all these preparations: create any number different 2D geometrical objects, on which can perform uniform (virtual) actions, regardless of their different natures:

In this very simple example illustrates the, what in object model C ++ language called Polymorphisms. And this property is one of the most powerful tools of expression of C ++. And this technique is always realized through pointers to objects (figure*).

That will look like a compilation and execution of our example (ex3.cc) at the terminal of the Linux operating system when using the GCC compiler with the C ++ language (it will once again confirms, that programming in C ++ in the least dependent on the operating system):

c ++, pointers to objects, Programming for beginners, c++

Once again we turn to the code shown in Example, and once again fix the very important fact, that C ++ pointers always typified: Index can not be "a pointer to something". The C ++ language – it is the language with strong Name typing. The type of the pointer is: a pointer to the variable type indicates it, such as "pointer to double». Pointers to different types are incompatible with each other on assignment and comparison.

Technology virtual functions and polymorphism are so central to the whole philosophy of C ++, that require a separate detailed consideration. About this talk in one of the following lessons.

To support our site – click on the piggy bank and choose any convenient way.

Newsletter of programming:


Agree to receive notifications from purecodecpp.com to my e-mail

Date
page
Pointers to objects in C ++
Rating
5
Olej

About Olej

practical experience about software development 40 years. Teacher Global Logic international software company. IBM Developer Works Permanent author of publications. Scientific editor of the computer literature publishing house "Symbol-Plus", St. Petersburg.

7 thoughts on “Pointers to objects

  1. On this topic – pointer indicates the beginning of the memory area (stores the address). And there is nothing more to write about it, tk. using the pointer you just take the value at that address, and leads him to the correct type (any).
    If and to disclose the topic – IMHO it is necessary to write about it, what problems solved pointers (without touching the PLO, tk. then this theme is almost not disclosed) and write based on pointers vs reference (topic has been disclosed in Myers, You can take it basis).

    But how are you then turned sharply you polymorphism. It's not bad, but nick, who read only your website is now little understood. Before, describing the classes you did not write about virtual functions, and even about the inheritance. And then suddenly fell to the reader all this and abstract classes.

    At the end of the article you describe polymorphism – I think it's worth a separate article. But before you write an article about “Class inheritance in C++” (This last theme in your plan on the main page)

  2. Tell, and who is admin? Lily and Igor? I always thought, that the name of the administrator writes Igor.

  3. A, that means the strings? In the first listing

    1. class object (type) my – m1.
      A pointer to this object – pm1.
      m1.show() – method call (functions) show() class for my object m1.
      pm1->show() – call exactly the same method show() my class through pointer object m1.

      1. Вообще-то m1это один объект, а pm1это указатель на совсем другой объект того же класса (в динамической памяти).

Leave a Reply

Place code in tags: <pre class="lang:c++ decode:true ">YOUR CODE</pre>

Указатели на объекты

Указатели на объекты
5 (100%) 1 vote




с++, указатели на объекты, программирование для начинающих, c++При первом знакомстве с указателями в C++ (см. Указатели в C++. Часть 1 ) может сложиться упрощённое представление, что указатели могут указывать только на отдельные переменные встроенных (скалярных) типов C++, и что это просто ещё одна, альтернативная форма доступа к таким переменным. В таком применении указатели были бы приятным дополнением языка, но с весьма ограниченными возможностями.

При более внимательном изучении указателей C++ мы обнаруживаем, что указатель может быть адресом размещения (указывать на) любого допустимого объекта в программе: структуры, объекта класса, массива, функции, или опять же указателя на некоторый объект, или указателя на указатель и так далее… Это делает указатели чуть ли не самым мощным инструментом программиста на C++ … но и самым опасным в смысле возможных скрытых ошибок.

Рассмотрим такие варианты подробнее. Самым простым вариантом будет использование указателей на составные объекты (объекты классов и структуры). Но уже такое использование указателей открывает широкие перспективы в C++, как мы сейчас увидим.

Итак, мы уже знаем, что описание класса не создаёт никаких новых объектов данных в программе — это только описание некоторого шаблона, нового типа данных, согласно которому будут создаваться реальные объекты данных. При создании (объявлении) новых объектов данных мы можем вычислять адрес этих объектов и присваивать их указателям на объекты этого класса. Напишем простейшую программу, оперирующую с указателями на объекты некоторого класса (файл ex1.cc):

Здесь мы видим относительно новую в наших темах конструкцию:

Это конструктор нового класса my, но с параметром создания. При вызове он вызывает конструктор родительского класса (number(numb)), передавая ему это же значение параметра. Следующие далее скобки {} обрамляют пустой блок кода, который означает, что ничего более сверх вызова родительского конструктора делать не нужно. Вспоминаем, что вся последовательность конструкторов всех родительских классов — вызывается (в порядке обратном наследованию) при вызове конструктора порождённого класса, но это только для конструкторов без параметров. В случае параметризированных конструкторов родиелей вам прийдётся вызывать явно.

Но мы на этом отвлеклись в сторону от предмета нашего изложения… А теперь самое время компилировать и посмотреть выполнение полученной нами программы:

с++, указатели на объекты, программирование для начинающих, c++

Пока ничего принципиально нового, и всё это сильно похоже на то, как мы работали бы с указателями на переменные типа double, скажем.

Вспомним, в дополнение, что оператор new для динамического создания нового объекта:

а) вызывает менеджер динамического управления памяти и выделяет новый объем под размещение такого объекта;

б) вызывает конструктор соответствующего класса (типа данных) для начальной разметки (инициализации) выделенной памяти. Слегка модифицируем свой пример (файл ex2.cc):

Сборка и выполнение:

с++, указатели на объекты, программирование для начинающих, c++

Пока ещё не произошло никаких радикальных изменений …, но обратим внимание на то, что в программе (а это могла бы быть сколь угодно большая программа) вообще не объявлены и не используются в явном виде объекты — программа оперирует только указателями на объекты.

И, наконец, мы приближаемся к той технике в использовании указателей на объекты, которая делает указатели самым мощным инструментом работы с классами и их объектами в C++. А именно: виртуализация функций-членов класса и полиморфизм. Понятие полиморфизма (изменчивости формы, многоликости) — одно из основных направлений развития C++ от его предшественника языка C. Оно состоит в том, что прародитель целого семейства наследуемых классов объявляет некоторые свои функции-методы как virtual. А в разных наследуемых классах эти функции-методы переопределяются по-разному. Это означает, что в различающихся наследуемых классах (родственных) функция-метод с одним и тем же именем будет выполняться несколько различающимся способом, в зависимости от конкретного класса в котором она используется.

Продемонстрируем эту технику на примере. Создадим (файл ex3.cc) класс, описывающий вообще любые плоские фигуры на плоскости (это могут быть элементы некоторого 2D игрового сценария):

Здесь перед нами образец того, что в C++ называется абстрактный класс: класс, в котором определена хотя бы одна виртуальная функция с определением вида:

В показанном классе таких функций аж 3. Естественно, что создать объект абстрактного класса невозможно, в нём есть функции, тело которых не определено. Попытка объявления объектов такого класса вызовет синтаксическую ошибку. Но от такого класса можно наследовать, создавать производные классы, которые унаследуют общие свойства родового абстрактного (например, координаты x и y центра фигуры и её размер r).

Определим 3 производных от figure класса: круг, квадрат и равносторонний треугольник:

Теперь мы готовы создать программу, для которой строились все эти приготовления: создать произвольное число различных 2D геометрических объектов, над которыми можем выполнять единообразные (виртуальные) действия, не взирая на их различную природу:

На этом простейшем примере показано то, что в объектной модели языка C++ называется полиморфизм. И это свойство является одним из самых мощных выразительных инструментов языка C++. И реализуется эта техника всегда через указатели на объекты (figure*).

Вот как будет выглядеть компиляция и выполнение нашего примера (ex3.cc) в терминале операционной системы Linux при использовании GCC компилятора с языка C++ (это будет лишний раз подтверждением того, что программирование на языке C++ в меньшей мере зависит от операционной системы):

с++, указатели на объекты, программирование для начинающих, c++

Ещё раз обратимся к коду показанного примера, и лишний раз зафиксируем то чрезвычайно важное обстоятельство, что указатели C++ всегда типизированы: указатель не может быть «указателем на что-то». Язык C++ — это язык со строгой именной типизацией. Типом же указателя является: указатель на тип указываемой ним переменной, например «указатель на double». Указатели на различные типы несовместимы между собой по присвоению и сравнению.

Техника виртуальных функций и полиморфизма являются настолько основными для всей философии C++, что требуют отдельного подробного рассмотрения. Об это поговорим в одном из следующих уроков.

Чтобы поддержать наш сайт — нажмите на копилку и выберите любой удобный способ.

Рассылка новых уроков по программированию:

Olej

Об авторе Olej

Стаж практических программных разработок около 40 лет. Преподаватель международной софтверной компании Global Logic. Постоянный автор публикаций IBM Developer Works. Научный редактор книжного издательства компьютерной литературы "Символ-Плюс", Санкт-Петербург.

Указатели на объекты: 7 комментариев

  1. По теме — указатель указывает на начало области памяти (хранит адрес). И нечего дальше писать про это, т.к. при использовании указателя ты просто берешь значение по этому адресу и приводишь его к нужному типу (любому).
    Если и раскрывать тему — то надо ИМХО написать про то, какие проблемы решали указатели (не касаясь ООП, т.к. тут эта тема почти не раскрывалась) и написать по мотивам указатели vs ссылки (тема уже раскрыта у Маерса, можно взять там основу).

    Но ты как то резко ты перешла к полиморфизму. Это не плохо, но юзерам, которые читали только твой сайт теперь мало что понятно. До этого, описывая классы ты не писала про виртуальные функции и даже про наследование. А тут вдруг на читателя упало все это и абстрактные классы.

    В конце статьи ты описала полиморфизм — я думаю это стоит выделить в отдельную статью. Но перед этим написать статью про «Наследование классов в C++» (это последняя тема в твоем плане на главной странице)

  2. Скажите, а кто админ? Лилия или Игорь? Я всегда думал, что от имени админа пишет Игорь.

  3. А, что означают строки? В первом листинге

    1. Объект класса (типа) my — m1.
      Указатель на этот объект — pm1.
      m1.show() — вызов метода (функции) show() класса my для объекта m1.
      pm1->show() — вызов точно того же метода show() класса my через указатель на объект m1.

      1. Вообще-то m1 — это один объект, а pm1 — это указатель на совсем другой объект того же класса (в динамической памяти).

Добавить комментарий

Код размещайте в тегах: <pre class="lang:c++ decode:true ">YOUR CODE</pre>