Ternary statement ? : in C++




тернарный оператор ?: C++

Hope, you are well dealt with the theme select if and else statements and you are not too difficult to solve tasks on this topic. The same lesson we continue to learn the basics of programming in C ++, and get acquainted with another selection operator (branch) – this is ternary statement ? :

It is usually used in cases, and if the condition code, that it is necessary to perform, the scan conditions, very simple. For example, ask the user whether he wants to continue working in the program or want to get out of it. The syntax is:

тернарный оператор ?:

First, we need to write a necessary condition for us and put a question mark behind it ? . Further, in the same line, after the question mark write first a simple command (code), which will be performed, if the condition returns true (true). After this command, we put a colon : and write a second command (code). This second team after the colon, executed only if, if the condition returns false (false).

Example. Suppose the user withdraws money from an ATM. He had the operation, and the screen should appear question: “You want to perform another operation?” The user is to make a choice (Yes or no) and press the corresponding button. We organize the selection of the following program:

The user makes a selection and enters a value – string 13. In string 15 we check the entered value. If the condition variable == 1 returns true (that is, if the variable is really 1), the executed code, located after the question mark ? . And the, that is after the colon : – ignored. Otherwise, if the user entered 0, ignored the code located between ? and : , and the second code is executed. Here is the result of work if introduced 1:

тернарный оператор ?:

if 0:

тернарный оператор ?:

Here is another interesting example. In him, using the ternary operator, determined minimum and maximum number of the two values, who will introduce the user.

Consider the string 20. The code will run as – first run for the ternary operator, will return a value based on the delivered condition, and after the value is written in the variable max. If the condition (firstDigit > secondDigit) – truth, value firstDigit recorded in max , if false, the value is written secondDigit. Further, it should be understood all. Compile:

тернарный оператор ?:

The program works fine!

A little about the ternary operator is told in this video tutorial (15--s minutes). Besides, it addresses the same statement multiple choice switch (17--s minutes) and conditional statements if and else




Finally, add, it is not recommended to some agreements on the coding to use the ternary operator because, it reduces code readability. But it is necessary to know about, since no one can predict, what codes need to find and read the future. Coding conventions longer can be found in our article Formatting source code.

Would you say “Thank you” for author? – share the article with your friends. To do this, click on your social network button below this article. I will be pleased! :)

Newsletter lessons:


Agree to receive notifications from purecodecpp.com to my e-mail

Date
page
Ternary statement ? : in C++
Rating
5

5 thoughts on “Ternary statement ? : in C++

  1. IMHO should be added, that not all coding conventions generally are allowed to use the ternary statement, tk. often falls easy readability of code.

    Like this:

    certainly better to do.
    1) You have variable – a variable of type bool, therefore variable == 1 is replaced by a variable.
    2) Do you compare Boolean variables with integer, it can confuse other programmers.
    3) According to some agreements on the coding when compared to equality must be a constant expression in the left side (failed to write variable = 1 instead of variable == 1, tk. 1 = Variable will generate an error at compile).
    4) I would have written as:

    A number of comrades advised to instead write a variable true == variable, but here it is possible to argue :).

    In general all of the code such. I have it:

    replaced as (about):

    then it makes no sense to carry out a comparison 2 times and it makes no sense to take the condition in parentheses

    The last example shows, that the colon is not shared by one team and the other team (as your figure), and expression. Besides, I would mention, that the comma operator returns the same value.

    1. rrrFer (aka Vladimir), it is wonderful, that you so carefully proofread our article. What can you say to your comment? I will say this – improve and optimize the code can be up to infinity. Because of your readers will see the commentary, that same task can be solved in different ways and that there are different options for dealing with variables bulevksimi. In your case is more optimized code. But my code is painted in more detail (so we focus primarily on newcomers) and similarly,, like your code, He has the right to life.
      P.S. Swearing of your comments deleted and in the future they would not like to see

      1. ummm… my comments were swearing? )

        I do not even proofread articles, I looked at the drawing and the source code.

        The point here is not in the optimization, and potential doorposts, that will never appear if you follow some agreements.

        well, for example, When you compare a Boolean variable to an integer, what's happening? – It is going to bring a bool to int, while fixed in the standard, that corresponds to the true unity, а false – zero. But if an integer cast to bool, then 2 == True would be to return true (but it is not, Although all sorts of students and schoolchildren can doubt, because they did not read standard).

        About the agreement, I wrote to the, there are pitfalls. For example once you write a class of complex numbers and reload it for a comparison operator, and the cast operator to the type bool. I think, that can receive a different and dangerous behavior in this case. That is. correct to compare the variables of the same type, and not expect that it casts automatically.

        I think, that the emphasis should be done on a case, when it is necessary to use the ternary operator, i.e.. when it is useful. Without it, all you can do, but it is syntactic sugar, which are often abused pupils and students. write like this about:

        We have an agreement to coding were listed cases where the operator is allowed to use in order to prevent such code here.

      2. We fully agree, without that the ternary operator can do in programming. But you have to know, such that there is, what it looks like and how it works. You never know, some people's code you have read and that there will be used.

Leave a Reply

Place code in tags: <pre class="lang:c++ decode:true ">YOUR CODE</pre>

Тернарный оператор ? : в C++




тернарный оператор ?: C++

Надеюсь, вы хорошо разобрались с темой операторы выбора if и else и вам не составило большого труда решить задачи по этой теме. В этом же уроке мы продолжаем изучать основы программирования на C++ и познакомимся еще с одним оператором выбора (ветвления) — это тернарный оператор ? :

Используется он обычно в тех случаях, если условие и код, который надо выполнить, в результате проверки условия, очень простые. К примеру, спросить у пользователя хочет он продолжить работать в программе или же хочет выйти из неё. Синтаксис такой:

тернарный оператор ?:

Вначале надо записать необходимое нам условие и за ним поставить знак вопроса ? . Далее, в этой же строке, после знака вопроса пишем первую простую команду (код), которая будет выполняться, если условие вернет истину (true). После этой команды ставим двоеточие : и пишем вторую команду (код). Эта вторая команда после двоеточия, выполнится только в том случае, если условие возвращает ложь (false).

Пример. Допустим пользователь снимает деньги в банкомате. Он провел эту операцию и на экране должен появиться вопрос: «Вы хотите выполнить другую операцию?» Пользователю остается сделать выбор (да или нет) и нажать соответствующую кнопку. Организуем этот выбор в следующей программе:

Пользователь делает выбор и вводит значение — строка 13. А в строке 15 мы проверяем введенное значение. Если условие variable == 1 возвращает true (то есть если переменная действительно равна 1), то выполнится код, расположенный после знака вопроса ? . А тот, что находится после двоеточия : — игнорируется. Иначе, если пользователь ввел 0, игнорируется код расположенный между ? и : , а выполняется второй код. Вот результат работы если введено 1:

тернарный оператор ?:

если 0:

тернарный оператор ?:

Вот еще один интересный пример. В нем, с помощью тернарного оператора, определяется минимальное и максимальное число из двух значений, которые введет пользователь.

Рассмотрим строку 20. Код будет выполняться так — вначале отработает тернарный оператор, вернет значение исходя из поставленного условия, а после это значение запишется в переменную max. Если условие (firstDigit > secondDigit) — истина, значение firstDigit записывается в max , если ложь, то записывается значение secondDigit. Далее должно быть всё понятно. Компилируем:

тернарный оператор ?:

Программа работает отлично!

Немного о тернарном операторе рассказано в этом видео-уроке (15-я минута). Помимо этого, в нем рассматриваются так же оператор множественного выбора switch (17-я минута) и условные операторы if и else




Напоследок добавлю, что в некоторых соглашениях о кодировании не рекомендуют использовать тернарный оператор из-за того, что снижается читабельность кода. Но знать о нём надо, так как никто не может предугадать, какие коды придется встретить и читать в будущем. О соглашениях кодирования больше можно узнать в нашей статье Форматирование исходного кода.

Хотите сказать «спасибо» автору? — поделитесь статьей со своими друзьями. Для этого нажмите на кнопку вашей социальной сети под этой статьей. Мне будет приятно! :)

Рассылка новых уроков по программированию:

Дата
Страница
Тернарный оператор ? : в C++
Рейтинг
51star1star1star1star1star

Тернарный оператор ? : в C++: 5 комментариев

  1. ИМХО стоит добавить, что не все соглашения о кодировании вообще разрешают использовать тернарный оператор, т.к. часто падает простота восприятия кода.

    Вот так:

    точно лучше не делать.
    1) У тебя variable — переменная типа bool, поэтому variable == 1 стоит заменить на variable.
    2) Ты сравниваешь булевую переменную с целым числом, это может запутать других программистов.
    3) По некоторым соглашениям о кодировании при сравнении на равенство константное выражение должно быть в левой части (чтобы не получилось написать variable = 1 вместо variable == 1, т.к. 1 = variable выдаст ошибку на этапе компиляции).
    4) я бы записал так:

    Ряд товарищей посоветовали бы вместо variable написать true == variable, но тут можно спорить :).

    Вобщем весь код такой. Я бы это:

    заменил так (примерно):

    тут нет смысла выполнять сравнение 2 раза и нет смысла брать условие в скобки

    Из последнего примера видно, что двоеточием разделяется не одна команда и другая команда (как на твоем рисунке), а выражения. Притом я бы упомянул, что оператор запятая тоже возвращает значение.

    1. rrrFer (он же Владимир), это замечательно, что ты так тщательно вычитываешь наши статьи. Что можно сказать по твоему комментарию? Скажу так — совершенствовать и оптимизировать код можно до бесконечности. Благодаря твоему комментарию читатели увидят, что одну и ту же задачу можно решить различными способами и что есть разные варианты обращения с булевксими переменными. В твоем случае код более оптимизирован. А мой код расписан более подробно (так мы ориентируемся в первую очередь на новичков) и точно так же, как и твой код, имеет право на жизнь.
      P.S. Ругательства из твоего комментария удалены и в дальнейшем их видеть не хотелось бы

      1. Эммм… в моем комментарии были ругательства? )

        Я не вычитывал статьи вообще, я посмотрел рисунок и исходный код.

        Дело тут не в оптимизации, а в потенциальных косяках, которые никогда не появятся если следовать некоторым соглашениям.

        Ну например, когда ты сравниваешь булевую переменную с целым числом, что происходит? — происходит приведение типа bool к типу int, при этом в стандарте закреплено, что true соответствует единице, а false — нулю. Но если бы целое число кастовалось в bool, то 2 == true должно было бы вернуть true (но это не так, хотя всякие студенты и школьники могут сомневаться, ведь они не читали стандарт).

        Про соглашения я писал к тому, что есть подводные камни. Например однажды ты напишешь свой класс комплексных чисел и перегрузишь для него оператор сравнения и оператор приведения типа к bool. Я думаю, что можно получить разное и опасное поведение в этом случае. Т.е. правильнее сравнивать переменные одного типа, а не надеяться на то что оно автоматически скастуется.

        Я думаю, что акцент надо сделать на случаях, когда тернарный оператор надо применять, т.е. когда он будет полезен. Без него вообще можно обойтись, но он является синтаксическим сахаром, которым часто злоупотребляют школьники и студенты. пишут вот так примерно:

        У нас к соглашении о кодировании были перечислены случаи когда РАЗРЕШАЕТСЯ использовать этот оператор чтобы не допустить вот такой код.

      2. Мы полностью согласны с тем, что без этого тернарного оператора можно обойтись в программировании. Но надо знать, что такой существует, как он выглядит и как работает. Никогда не знаешь, какой чужой код тебе придется читать и что там будет использовано.

  2. В примере с if else значения max и min принимают 0, объясните пожалуйста в чем ошибка?

Добавить комментарий

Код размещайте в тегах: <pre class="lang:c++ decode:true ">YOUR CODE</pre>